Removal of the Worrywart

I’ve always been something of a worrywart.

Yep, I was that kid in middle and high school that would always bring “extra” books to class “just in case.” I was terrified that my world would crumble to pieces should I forget to bring my ruler to math class.

For most of my life, I have lived in a bubbles of “what ifs.” As I have gotten older and my relationship with Christ has grown so much deeper, those constant worries have diminished.

Sort of. Honestly, I still have a long way to go.

Our pastor Keith challenged us last week to consider either giving up or taking up something for lent. I had been thinking about it, but couldn’t come up with anything that spoke to my heart.

Chocolate? Naw… while it is something I enjoy, it really isn’t something that I am addicted to or is in the way of my relationship with Christ. Caffeine? Also, not super important to me, since I drink less than one caffeinated beverage per day. TV? Already cut my cable. Social media doesn’t consume my life and is more of a marketing platform for ministry, so that wouldn’t work either.

As I sat in our Ash Wednesday CRAVE prayer service last week, I asked God what He wanted me to do for the next 40 days (which would hopefully carry over into my entire life.) This is what He said:

“Give up your worries. Trust Me. Depend on Me.”

Great. This was going to be more difficult than caffeine, chocolate, and Facebook combined.

I continued to meditate… I knew that me “giving up” being a worrywart wasn’t as easy as me resolving to quit it. I needed something tangible… something to remind me how to remove this “wart” in my life…

So right after CRAVE, I went to Hobby Lobby and purchased a cross. For the last 6 days, I have literally being laying my fears at the foot of the cross. Afterwards, I write down the “Faith Factors” of God amazing attributes and put them in a jar to remind myself that God’s power easily outnumbers my fears.

Now, I have never had a wart before, so I have never had to have one removed. Rumor has it that it can be temporarily painful. But if you leave it there, sometimes warts can be pretty unsightly, which is exactly the case with my ugly worrywart on my heart. Not only is my worrying a blemish, but it is a sin about doubting God’s goodness, plans, faithfulness and love.

So yes, removing this “worrywart” on my heart has already been a challenge… But I can already feel myself healing and growing stronger into a new, refreshed, more Jesus-trusting person.  I am honestly excited for the entire duration of lent because at the end of this process, I am plan to literally “burn off” this wart by taking a match to my worrywart papers. (And honestly, who doesn’t like a little pyromaniac action?)

I’m so thankful that I can go to THE Professional Healer for removal of my worrywart.

Fear to faith at the foot of the Cross,

SGK

“Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?” Matthew 6:27

Categories: chocolates, fear, God, lent, worry | Tags: , , , , | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “Removal of the Worrywart

  1. I guess we must both be on the same wavelength as I did a worry post today as well. I like your angle of the worrywart.

    • Rich, it doesn’t surprise me that we both wrote about worry– it seems to be something that plagues a lot of us on a daily basis. It’s annoying, but we gotta Trust Jesus! Thanks for your support!

  2. Sharita, I love your tangible reminder that’s visible throughout the day! I pinned it on my pinterest! 🙂 I also love how you are following Romans 12:2, “Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” Awesome, girl!!

    • Wow, THANKS, Michelle… I don’t think I have ever been pinned before 🙂 Made my day. And I LOVE that passage in Romans– It is probably one of my top 10 Bible verses. Amen, sista!

  3. Mamma Lex

    By nature, I’m not a worrier. I’m not going to say I never worry but it doesn’t consume me. My first real worry that I would say would be ok to worry about was when my son, Brandon went to Iraq the first time, then the 2nd, then the 3rd…whew. And then my other son, Brock, joined the Air Force and was in plenty of worrisome (dangerous) places, too. People would often ask me “how do you do it?”. Well to be honest I have no idea how I didn’t go crazy during that time so my response was…I didn’t do anything other than pray and give it over to God. And so I just continue to pray…and give all my worries to God!

    • Thanks for being such an encourager in my life, Mamma Lex… You always bring me back around to Jesus on those days when I wonder myself if I can “do it” and make it through. LOVE YOU!

  4. Nicole Born

    Sharita, this post truly speaks to my heart. I AM by nature, a worrier 😦 I worry about school, my husband’s job, my friends’ situation, my sister, and so much more. I’ve read the passage in Matthew about worrying so many times and I go through spurts of really relying on God and then going back to worrying a while. I try to journal my worries and leave them there, but that doesn’t always work either. I LOVE that you’ve made this something tangible, measurable, and constantly seen! Thank you so much for this post…I will probably be trying something like this in my own home 🙂

    • I am kind of the same way, Nicole– I do ok for a little while then something happens and WHOOSH I am right back where I started. I encourage you in your path of laying down your worries at the foot of the cross– it greatly helping my heart, and it hasn’t even been a week yet!

  5. K Buckle

    Sharita – My Aunt Norma always said that when she went to bed she gave all her worries over to the Lord because he was going to be up all night anyway, and she needed the sleep. I need to be more like her in that area. Good luck, and God bless your work here.

    • Mrs. Buckle, that is genius! I am definitely gonna remember that the next time my life thoughts (aka worries) are keeping me from sleeping. God’s gonna be up all night anyway, and THIS new future mama needs her sleep for sure 🙂 Thanks for your great words and encouragement.

  6. Oh just love this! I can certainly relate to being a worry wart! I call it “chasing marbles,” carrying so many worries can really weigh you down! My daughter recently had a wart removed and boy did it hurt. I love the idea of the cross and giving up your worries for lent. You’ll lose weight and you don’t even have to give up chocolate!

  7. I love this! And I love how you picked something tangible to go with your spiritual offering. I need to think of something for my act of cultivation.

    • Thanks, Jen! I am all about things I can see and do to remind myself.
      When I think of cultivation, I think of “growing” something… What if with each area of your life you do something you cultivate, you plant a little flower seed in a box? Or do it figuratively with a mini-tree picture or something? Kind of out there– but I love creative!

  8. Pingback: Joy in the Mourning « 7 Days Time

  9. Pingback: Think “Fast” Finale! « 7 Days Time

  10. Pingback: War on Worry (Anxiety-Free Monday, Week #9) « 7 Days Time

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

