A Flower in Your Hair

All right… Whoever thought up this concept of Daylight Savings time OBVIOUSLY did not work in ministry. Otherwise, they would have picked to either A) Not mess with the timing of our days or 2) Do the time change on a Friday night.

When you work on Sunday, Daylight Savings Time seems to be ANYTHING but a blessing.

But I’m not bitter. Seriously. It’s fine. Because I work for Jesus– the paycheck is better and the job is way more stable than anything the government can give me.

Now that I have THAT off my chest…

I’m tired. And yes, it is from that whacky time change, coupled with my preggo brain that seems to think sleeping at night is overrated. I didn’t sleep worth a poo on Saturday night (it was that level of “sleep” just above a doze ALL night… I could have jumped out of bed and written a blog post at any moment, and it would have actually made sense.) Definitely not rested.

So when my alarm went off at 6:30am on Sunday to get ready for my 10 hour day of Jesus work, I just laid in bed, staring at the ceiling… Angry. (Don’t you just LOVE those days?!?)

As I lay there, I began to think… And pray. My mind was drawn to Colossians 2:23-24… “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.” I knew that if my tired body (and brain for that matter) were going to make it through the day, it was going to be a straight up act of God.

When I finally got the motivation to swing my feet to the floor, I was DETERMINED to work for God’s glory… even if it killed me. (Which at that point, I was convinced was a possibility.) I stumbled downstairs and had my quiet time with God.

As usual, God knew exactly what I needed… He spoke to me through Jesus Calling.

“When I gave you My Spirit, I empowered you to live beyond your natural ability and strength. That’s why it is so wrong to measure your energy level against the challenges ahead of you. The issue is not your strength, but Mine, which is limitless. By walking close to Me, you can accomplish My purposes in My strength.” (Jesus Calling, March 11)  

Um… Touché, God.

I was reassured that I didn’t have to walk through that day on my own physical or emotional strength. However, I am a firm believer in having a legitimate attitude and the concept of “Look good, feel good, do good.” And I needed on of those days for Jesus.

My outfit choice for the day was… bright. (Don’t worry, we are not getting into a fashion conversation– I am the last person you want to take advice on THAT topic from.) I had to teach part of a class later that night, so knew that make-up and clicky shoes were a requirement. (Confidence boost.) But I chose a BRIGHT (and when I say bright, I mean obnoxious) yellow dress to wear with black tights and black overshirt. Someone described me as “Their little bumblebee.” (Uhh, thank you?)

And the final touch for my Jesus strength? A fake yellow flower clippy in my hair.

I didn’t care what other people would say. God was with me. He was the one who was going to carry me through the day.  Some days you might need extra prayer… or extra sleep… or a little flower in your hair.

What do you do when you need a Jesus “pick-me-up?” I would love to hear your thoughts. Leave a comment here or “Like” and comment on 7 Days Time Facebook Page. 

Oh, and if you are curious… Sunday rocked (especially with the Jesus motivated impromptu auctioneering demo I did during my class… but that’s another blog post.)

🙂

Rejoicing in the small things,

SGK

“That’s what I’m working so hard at day after day, year after year, doing my best with the energy God so generously gives me.” –Colossians 1:29 (MSG) 

Categories: CCC, energy, faith, God, hope | Tags: , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “A Flower in Your Hair

  1. How thankful we should be for the strength of God that helps us through our rough days following sleepless nights! Somehow those sleepless nights seem to be Saturday evenings before a full day of ministry on Sunday?? Can’t wait to hear about your Jesus motivated impromptu auctioneering demo!
    New to your blog and I so enjoyed my visit here! I’ll be back!

    • Yeah, I do find it interesting that those sleepless nights DO come right before a full day of something. I tend to get caught in a rough cycle– I am not sleeping, look at the clock, get mad I am not sleeping so end up sleeping less (repeat.)

      Praise Him who gives us strength!

      Thanks for the kind words and excited to see you back soon 🙂 Blessings to you, Gen!

  2. A Jesus pickme up ….. well reading my Jesus calling first!! He always finds a way to connect with me there.
    Then a long hot shower full of meditation and just washing the gloom off. aaaahhhhhhh
    And best of all … talking with my 4yr old who enjoys play time with God & Jesus. She tells me all about what they are doing (usually sleeping or eating – they seem to do LOTS of that) and she repeatedly tells me how much she loves them. (o: and how they love her and me and daddy and Hayley and Ayden and Zachary and Lily (cat) and … and… and… and
    Thru the eyes and out the mouths of babes ………
    (o:

    • Every time you reply, I find that we have more and more in common 🙂 I am (obviously) the same way. LOVE Jesus Calling and hot showers (or a bath, depending on my time schedule.)

      Although instead of a 4yr old, I have to currently go with my puppy. While He doesn’t talk, God sure uses him to lift my spirits sometimes!

  3. I can really relate to your post. Daylight Savings Time is something else isn’t. It takes my body about a week to become acclimated. I too had to work for Jesus on Sunday. I had to write. And it really took effort. But, I did it, an did it well, all for the glory of the Lord.

    • Great work, Joan! Isn’t that a glorious Jesus feeling–when, against some pretty strong odds, we are able to glorify Him by doing work in His name?

  4. Hi Sharita. 🙂 We don’t have Daylight Savings Time here in the Philippines, but I think I can relate to those sleepless nights and having to work the following morning. And that happening on a Sunday — experiences before I left medical internship. I would stay in bed, feeling so exhausted and bitter because all people are sleeping more hours while I had to work. My only refuge on those moments was prayer. Prayer to give me strength and to help me change my perspective. And prayer is indeed powerful because God is there to give us strength when we are at our weakest. 🙂

    Thank you so much for sharing this post about the amazing power of prayer! Take care and God bless! 🙂

    • First of all, Irene– thanks for reading all the way from the Philippines! That is too cool 🙂 And yes, I have found myself in many situations (not just Daylight Savings Time) when I am faced with a choice to be bitter or rejoice and serve Him. Prayer is a great way to get where He wants us to be!

  5. Sarah Koci Scheilz

    Love this. God is so good to lift us up with gifts big and small, yes?

  6. i really meant the bumblebee comment in the best way. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

