Dive In & Just Keep Swimming

My heart was pounding. The sun was beating down on the back of my neck. My little feet left wet footprints on the warm concrete. I shivered… from the gentle Kansas breeze or nerves, I couldn’t tell. I approached my target. Breath. Step. Breath. Step. Breath. Step.

The higher I climbed, the harder my heart pounded. I reached the top and peered down to the deep blue water. My Mama was looking up at me, her hands shielding her eyes from the sun, watching my every move. I inched slowly to the end of the board. Then I turned around, heading back towards the ladder.

Suddenly, I spun on my heels, got running start and jumped. It felt like I was flying, suspended in air for a few brief seconds… That is, until I hit the water.

Yes, my first ever trip off the high dive at the swimming pool ended in a belly flop. Uh, ouch? While the landing took my breath away, my third grade limbs managed to function well enough to get me back to safety to the side of the pool. I DID IT.

Not quite the high dive described above... but it captures my expression both then AND now when it comes to taking risks.

Many years later, I discovered that my Mom was prepared for me to chicken out. When I turned back around heading towards the ladder, she thought I had changed my mind. But in all actuality, I had a surge of courage. Get a running start, plug my nose and dive in.

Nearly two decades later, I am still not much of a thrill seeker, especially when it comes to heights. But one thing has changed. When it comes to Jesus activities on the ground, I now have the courage to risk boldly and jump (with or without the running start and/or plugged nose.)

While I would love to say that the risks I take were the same caliber as jumping off the high dive, now they seem to be much more intense. Instead of risks of the physical type, God has called me to risk boldly when it comes to issues of the heart. Personally, my heart seems more fragile than my body sometimes.

And yes… even “heart risks” can end in a belly flop.

I risked boldly when… I answered the call to be an army wife. It’s thrilling, rewarding, and occasionally terrifying. Yeah, sometimes I feel like we are just treading water, waiting for a direction. But I don’t regret diving into marriage with my beloved.

I risked boldly when… God told my husband and I to start a family. Right now, we still feel the sting of that landing as we recover from our miscarriage. However, we are slowly but surely paddling to the ladder of safety and recovery on the side… And we await the call when God tells us to dive in again.

I risked boldly when… I answered the call to ministry. Launching my own personal ministry has literally made me lose sleep on occasion, due to excitement, uncertainty and confusion. Yes, I have swallowed a little water along the way and felt like I was temporarily sinking, wondering WHY I jumped in… But God is right there beside me, His words similar to Dori from Finding Nemo: “Just Keep Swimming.”

Is God calling you to dive into something? Or are you already in the pool, trying to keep your head above water? I would love for you to share your experiences by leaving a comment here.

Regardless of where you are on that risk taking dive, whether you are still on the ground looking up, in the middle of the climb, flying through the air, recovering from a bellyflop landing or paddling towards the side… Know that God is your lifeguard, cheering you on. Don’t be afraid to dive in and just keep swimming.

Doggie Paddling my way to Jesus,
SGK

“Risk your life and get more than you ever dreamed of. Play it safe and end up holding the bag.” –Luke 19:26

Categories: call, challenge, childhood, Courage, excited, God, perseverance | Tags: , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Dive In & Just Keep Swimming

  1. Jesus pushes me a lot – He shoved me into my mother’s car and took me to Clovia, then dumped me out. He threw me off an airplane – JFV! He also gave me one and only one reasonable job opportunity. I guess He knows I’m not good at clues and hints – He just puts it all out there and throws me into it. He’s just sitting on the dock with a cold one saying…you’ll learn to swim in a bit – or maybe that was my dad. 😉

    • Oh Kayla, you make me smile… I could probably write a book about the crazy stuff Jesus has (and continues) to urge me to jump into.

      And yes… I think that was your dad… but I’m sure our Heavenly Father was right there watching too 🙂

  2. He is kinda bossy … right?! We are working on a home remodel job that has LOTS of ‘issues’. I’ve been praying and I’ve tried to NOT be pushing my ideas on to my husband & workers.

    NOW we visited the bank and were certain we had the GREEN LIGHT so on Monday April 2 our house was going to be lifted up, a new basement dug out, cement poured and home set back down. BUT the loan officer called wednesday saying NO GO!! WTHECK?????? Turns out that the appraisal is not where it needs to be. We live in a small town (pop 500) and nothing is selling right now. When we are done we will have a 5 bedroom 4 bathroom roughly 4000 sq foot home …. space we need for the 6 of us. My 2 youngest have Cystic Fibrosis so a new basement and updated air exchange & air filtering system is a must.

    WELL I have whined and cried and complained the last few days and all that is sticking in my head is “Just keep swimming Just keep swimming’ and THY WILL BE DONE! Sure we have a plan of what we see as a NEED for my children. I want to keep them safe and healthy I LOVE THEM I will do anything to keep them safe.

    God love me too. He loves all His children the way I love my children. HE wants for all of us what I want for my kids …. sssooo while I swim ~ trying to keep my head above water ~ I can’t help but think/believe/ HAVE FAITH that something greater is in the works! He is not going to put us in danger 0 He is a loving caring father wanting best for all His children. I just have to wait …. and wait …. and joyfully patiently wait!!

    So here I am … swimming and waitting ….. waiting and swimming …. (o:

    • Wow, Sue that is all so powerful… So thankful that while God tells us to “just keep swimming” He is still there as our life preserver! (Or should I say life GIVER!)

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

