Questions are ok… Sorta.

Why did the chicken cross the road?

Are we there yet?

What’s gonna happen next?

What should I do?

Ahhh, yes…Everyday questions… Many of which lack solid answers. Kind of like a lot of the questions we have for God about our lives.

Question Marks

via

Somewhere in the journey to Jesus, we have created the idea that it is not OK to “question” God. I disagree with that statement. But before you think I’ve lost my mind and unsubscribe to my blog, hear me out.

I think it is ok to ASK God for stuff… and even ask ABOUT stuff, specifically for clarification on things. Asking “Why did this happen?” or “What do you want me to do?” isn’t wrong. We are supposed to talk and commune with the Lord. In fact, He loves when we talk (and listen) to Him.

We get in trouble when our questions turn from a guidance-seeking motive to essentially questioning God’s attributes. Our question of “Why did you do this?” can quickly turn into “Why did you do this, I thought you loved me?” which is questioning God’s power, plan, goodness or love.  That’s dangerous ground, my friend. Believe me. I know.

Crappy stuff happens in life. That’s why it’s called life, not heaven. (Is that too blunt?) And while I wish I had all of the answers, I have to remember: That’s not my job. I can ask God to share His plan with me. He might– and He might not. That’s where the TRUST factor comes in.

In our recent trials, (i.e. miscarriage, ranger school, drill sergeant stuff, ministry, etc) I have tried to frame my questions to the Lord like this: “Lord, I trust you and I love you. I know that you love us and won’t do anything to harm us. Why did you allow ______ to happen? What purpose does it hold in our life?” Sometimes He gives us an immediate answer. Other times, it’s been a hot minute. And yet on other occasions of questions to the Lord, we still have no answers… And might not til we see Him in Heaven.

And you can bet when I get there, I am going to have the heavenly equivalent of a Starbucks date with God to seek some clarification. 🙂

But in the meantime, I will continue to question God in a way that helps me to discover my purpose– specifically how I am to glorify Him through it all. If He gives me the answer, great. If not, that’s ok… because I trust Him. I KNOW He loves us. I KNOW His plan is perfect.

What questions have you asked God lately?  Are you waiting on answers? I would love to pray for you! Leave your comment here.

Shrugging my shoulders and looking towards heaven,
SGK

“I call on you, O God, for you will answer me; give ear to me and hear my prayer.” –Psalm 17:6

I’m linking up with Soli Deo Gloria Sisterhood today… Pop over, check ’em out and leave a few comments 🙂

Categories: God, listen, patience, peace | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Questions are ok… Sorta.

  1. AMEN Sharita AMEN!!!!
    (o: ❤

    • This Hebrew Amen is derived from the root [aman], which means to be firm or solid in the sense of permanency or faithfulness.

      You show us your faithfulness with each blog! You show us how permanent the Lord is in your life! You are such a wonderful servant and blessed vessel!!

      Thank you …. Thank you!! (o:

    • 4 letters can mean so much ….

      Amen means to nourish and make strong. Emunah (faithfulness) also comes from aman. The ancient Greeks used the word (AMHN) from Hebrew to mean ‘truth’, ‘surely’, ‘absolutely’. It is one of just a few Hebrew words which have been imported unchanged

      TRUTH SURELY ABSOLUTELY
      I see why my first instinct was just to type Amen!!! it really says it all!!! (o:

  2. Jen Ferguson

    In my class at church, we’ve been talking about cultivating. The very first session was cultivating honesty and I used Habakkuk chapter 1 as the leading example. I think God desires that we ask Him the hard questions because He wants us to tell Him what is truly on our hearts. It is very difficult to have a relationship with someone without honesty present.

  3. Brittany

    This is so awesome. I know when I was going through everything I questioned God and when I stopped blaming him and just questioning my purpose I found I was listening to God a lot more. Great post!!!

  4. I think this is a great post also….we all have questions and it depends on how u ask them …if u trust in God with all ur heart the question is “how Lord is what happened going to lead me closer to u????….I know sometimes it is hard to think that way when bad things happen but like u said that is part of life….we live, we die,,,it is ur chosing if u live forever….Great post and love the page….thanks to Nick and Sharon Jack for sharing this with me….God Bless

  5. I have been waiting on an answer as to where we are going next. Jacob is in construction so after a job has been completed we get shipped off to the next job site – if there is one (though most likely we’ll still be in the SoCal area). It’s nerve-wracking not knowing where we’ll be after May (as a woman married into the military you understand that better than most) but I’m trying to hand the worry over to Him and be patient.

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

