Gotta Love the Shiny

Do you know what my favorite thing about April is? Go ahead, guess…

The warmer weather? Naw. April showers bringing May flowers? I do enjoy it, but not my favorite. The fact that April is National Grilled Cheese Sandwich month? Oohh close, but not quite. Do you give up?

I love April because it is my bi-annual ring cleaning month. (I will give you a moment to stop laughing… or rolling your eyes… or however you reacted.)

That’s right. My beloved proposed to me in the month of April, thus I have to have my engagement/wedding ring cleaned and inspected every six months in order to maintain the lifetime guarantee. So October and April are two of my favorite months of the year.

In the airport, moments after my beloved gave the ring... I have never felt more bright and shiny. And if you are curious-- I said yes.

Before you think I am a superficial crazy person, let me explain something. It’s not the biggest ring on the planet. And it certainly isn’t the most expensive. (I personally have issues buying/owning/wearing a piece of jewelry that costs as much as a vehicle. Uh, yeah, no.) But I love my ring because of what it represents– a sacred, lifelong covenant between my beloved and I.  And I LOVE getting it cleaned. After they work their two-minute magic on this bad boy, it looks as good as new. I don’t know about you, but I just love the shiny.

The new shininess of the ring just fills my heart with joy. The light will catch it every now and then, at which point I smile like a bozo, think of my beloved and giggle like a school girl.

Sometimes I am so excited about the “shiny” in my life, I am convinced I am part squirrel.

But here’s the thing with my newly-cleaned up ring… That awesome excessive shine only lasts a few days. As the weeks and months pass, don’t get me wrong, it still looks pretty and I always cherish it, but it gets a little… gunky. And when I do take it in to get cleaned every six months, I oftentimes have to ask for a “second” cleaning because they missed some of the inside crevices.

Getting that  ring cleaned is a lot like our relationship with Jesus. I don’t know about you, but if I neglect my Jesus time, I start to lose that Jesus shine and look/feel gunky. So I am all about  getting polished daily by spending time with Him. And just like that ring’s “lifetime guarantee,” I need to have  hardcore cleaning sessions a few times a year… perhaps it is a women’s retreat, or attend a really awesome Jesus conference or go on a mini-personal sabbatical.

And every time I come back from those big Jesus events, I feel new… fresh… clean… and of course, oh-so-shiny. Talk about some Jesus Bling!!

So I am curious– what do you do to keep your “Jesus shine?” Do you attend any specific events? Or do you have any interesting methods to be cleansed by Jesus daily to maintain your shine? Let me know by commenting here. 🙂

The blood of Jesus is the ultimate cleaning solution. Get washed today. Accept His love for you, and don’t be shy about sharing it with others. Jesus is the light and He can shine through us… And I don’t know about you, but I just gotta love the shiny.

This Shine Ain’t All Mine,
SGK

“‘Men and women who have lived wisely and well will shine brilliantly, like the cloudless, star-strewn night skies. And those who put others on the right path to life will glow like stars forever.” — Daniel 12:3

Its. So. Shiny. Thank you, Jesus!

Categories: blessing, celebrate, fresh start, God, Jesus, Love, marriage, recharge, shine | Tags: , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Gotta Love the Shiny

  1. Leah Addington

    I loved this post! I just did a women’s retreat with church and can totally agree that I felt “shiny” afterward. Women of Faith is another awesome refresher!

    • Thanks, Mrs. Addington. (I know I could probably call you Leah by now… since I’m all adult-ish and stuff… but I just can’t do it.) This blog is a great way to stay “clean” everyday, but I am thinking of finding a way to take a little sabbatical when my beloved goes on Men’s retreat in a couple of weeks– perhaps me and and the pup in a little cabin somewhere? Hmmm.

  2. fullherlife

    I didn’t roll my eyes, that’s really cute actually! 😉 I want to be cleaned by God today! Happy cleaning and may God continue to pour His blessings over your marriage Sharita! ~Amy

    • Ha ha, thankful you didn’t roll your eyes– my husband did when I told him I blogged about getting my ring cleaned. (He did it in a loving way of course.) Thank you for the well wishes, Amy… And I am super pumped to continue to build our relationship. I’ve only known you for a few days but am already a big fan 🙂

  3. Darla

    I get excited about ring cleanings too. John gets irritated because I don’t want to wear it while washing dishes for a couple weeks after, but it’s so pretty! 🙂 Good analogy I’d never thought of. Love you!

    • Ha ha… Men don’t get it, I guess… Perhaps compare it to washing a John Deere tractor? Thanks for the comment friend! Love you too!

  4. I earned a free 5 day Bahama cruise thru my direct sales company …. and my husband and I left all our jewels at home ……… well we were feeling kinda naked in the airport without wedding rings – so we picked up a couple of simple silver bands at a gift shop for $12 each (o: I value that ring and the vacation we got to take together. The shiny only lasted until we hit the beach but James says my eyes shine when I wear it and talk about our ‘Honeymoon’ (the cruise was just before our 11 yr anniversary)! That week shined up our relationship too!! God is good …. shining us up and refining us day-by-day!
    Thanks for this post …. I think I’m gonna take this gold ring off today and wear my silver one!!

  5. I promise I didn’t laugh or roll my eyes. I did smile. Reading this allowed me to reflect on the specialness of my rings (yes, all simple, but so specially obtained over 33+ years). And the specialness of the amazing man God placed in my life. But I also reflected on your thought of keeping the shiny. I just got a Nook tablet. I love it. I don’t love the smudgies on the screen so I keep an eye glass silk and spray cleaner in my purse. It’s just a must and I don’t leave home without it. Similarly, I don’t leave home without the Word. I typically have my Bible, a Bible phone ap, and another Bible ap on my Nook. In addition to those, if I have my purse, I’m also carrying the current month’s installments of The Bible in One Year. I love the big shiny moments–crave them actually, but I also keep the luster going in betwen by making sure there are regular (daily) cleanings and connections. Thanks for prompting this thought chain. Blessings.

    • Well, let’s just say your comment made me smile also. Very inspiring. So thankful you crave to stay shiny in Jesus– its such a wonderful feeling 🙂 Blessings to you my friend!

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

