A Latte Love (Factor of 7)

Yesterday at 5:45am, my phone alarm went off. But unlike other days as of late, I had NO problem bounding out of bed.

It was time for third month of Factor of 7. I was so excited about it, I woke up three times throughout the night to make sure I hadn’t overslept for our Jesus adventure.

As I write this, I can’t tell if my excited jitters are from the skinny caramel macchiato I had or the remnants of our Starbucks Factor of 7. (Talk about some legit Jesus Caffeine!)

So yes, yesterday my beloved and I found ourselves at McGraw housing complex Starbuck’s here on a Fort Benning. At 7:00am. Ready to bless some folks with free coffee. $107 of free coffee, to be exact.

And as it has proven the last two months… It. Was. Awesome. Jesus was there– and blessed us immensely.

My beloved approached the cash register and ordered our personal drinks. (Perk of Factor of 7 experience: We get an excuse to treat ourselves to coffee/yogurt etc.) He asked the cashier/barista to break a $20 bill. (We needed a couple smaller bills to get our exact cash amount.) Needless to say, the cashier/barista looked a smidgen annoyed at our request.

But in less than thirty seconds, that all changed.

Brandon handed me the $5 bill I needed, then I stepped up to the register and told Shauna that we were going to pay for the next $107 worth of coffee that came through the line.

Her expression was PRICELESS. Her jaw dropped, eyes got big and she gasped…. “WHHAAAA… ARE YOU SERIOUS?!?!”

The entire atmosphere of that little coffee shop changed quicker than you could say “double shot espresso.” For the next 45 minutes or so, Brandon and I stood at the pick-up counter, notebook and business cards in hand, watching peoples’ reactions and asking how we could pray for them.

That's us on the right. Sharing some Latte Love

In total, we were able to buy coffee/breakfast for 22 people. One of our bless-ees is having a baby in June. Another is deploying to Germany. Several families were preparing to watch their son/brother graduate from Basic Training today and tomorrow. (Fun conversations ensued when I told them that the handsome man behind me was a drill sergeant. Fortunately they weren’t in his battalion, so my beloved wasn’t one of the drills who probably made their son cry 😉 )

When I asked one lady how we could pray for her, she leaned in close to me, eyes misty and whispered gently, “I am a cancer survivor.” I very loudly (and enthusiastically) blurted out “WELL, PRAISE THE LORD!!” I’m sure the other customers were intrigued.

It was a fantastic way to spend part of our morning. Oh… And did we mention that a reporter from The Bayonet (the local Fort Benning newspaper) was there? She is going to run a story on our ministry in next week’s paper. (Thanks for that one, Jesus!)

Today we encourage you to share the love of Christ around you. Get creative. Pop over to the Factor of 7 page for ideas. You never know who you will bless… and how YOU will be blessed in return.

Oh, one more thing… To celebrate this successful event, we are doing a GIVEAWAY!!!  We are sharing a little more Latte Love with a chance for you to win a Starbuck’s gift card!

The contest starts today and will continue until the story runs next week in The Bayonet. (Approximately one week.) To enter, share this post (and/or future/past posts) with folks you know via Facebook, email, Twitter, etc. And then leave a comment here to give your reaction and how you shared.

The more you share/comment, the more times you can enter to win some of your own Latte Love!

We are so thankful that we have been called to serve in this way… More than 22 different kinds of drinks were purchased on Wednesday at McGraw Starbucks from frappuccinos to white chocolate mochas… But every single one of them was made with little Jesus Latte Love!

Caffeinated with Christ,
SGK

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.”
–John 13:34

Categories: army, blessing, Drill Sergeant, evangelism, excited, Factor of 7, generosity, giveaway, God, husband, Love | Tags: , , , , , , , | 36 Comments

Post navigation

36 thoughts on “A Latte Love (Factor of 7)

  1. kelliwommack

    So fun! I know you made a “latte” people happy and God was doing a happy dance as well! I love your energy, enthusiasm, creativity, and BOLDNESS. God is at work in you and Barn!

  2. Bekah

    So awesome, wish I had been there to share the experience!

  3. Yesterday I invited 2 ladies that have been placed along my path of life for certain reason. I see Christs love and joy shine brightly from both. We shared coffee, monkey bread and let the Lord lead us thru a little Fruit of the Spirit fun (o:
    I pray to have extra money to do what you do!! (o: I know having someone pay for a coffee for me would blow my socks off!!! (o: thanks for the inspiration!!

  4. wow what a blessing …am so excited for y’all….while reading this I got the chills and knew that Jesus was here with me as well….thanks for sharing this…I bet alot of them were really shocked to hear that they were getting free coffee…great job in spreading the word of our Lord….also shared this with my friends on facebook

    • Thanks so much, Kay! It was a super good time… and fun to watch their faces when they found out what was going on 🙂

  5. Sharita, I’m loving these stories. They really are spurring me on to come up with something similar to do right here in Abilene, KS. I think though I might have to camp out at our local coffee shop for much longer than 45 minutes to pay for $107 worth of coffee. Definitely not a high traffic area. I’m going to come up with something though.

    • Ha ha… Yeah, you might need an alternative than the coffee shop idea. What about something with fruits/veggies to go with your healthy/natural eating mission? Let me know where God leads you in this! I’m excited for you!

  6. Jenn Gifford

    Sharita, this is great!! What a way to get in peoples world and open the door to share Jesus!! Who can say NO when you’re buying them coffee. Sounds like something Jesus would do. Love it!! Thanks for sharing your adventure and inspiring others to share Christ.

    • I wonder if Jesus would feed people Starbucks and danishes instead of bread and fish? Thanks for your encouragement, sweet friend! Love you 🙂

  7. Fantastic, Factor of 7 is one of my fav topics that you cover. I will run some ideas by you for my Career and Community Connection class next year – we are going to do something like this called random acts of kindness! I pinned this to Pinterest.

    • We will def have to talk about your class projects for next year… and thanks for pinning it darling! Hope to see you this summer 🙂

  8. fullherlife

    YAY Sharita girl!!! How exciting to be in the community with a mission to serve! I’m looking forward to hearing more about this in upcoming posts! ~ Blessings sister, Amy

  9. This was such a special thing. I’ve heard of peope doing the pay for part but to be right there ready to pray is such an awesome gift. So happy to share the blessing. I posted it to my blog, to ttwitter, and to linkedin.

    • Thanks so much for sharing so freely! It’s been great to pray for folks. Such a great blessing to us!

  10. Momma Lex

    This post really touched my heart and I am so blest that you fell in love with my son!! I couldn’t have asked for a more perfect helper for him. I wish I had your boldness for sharing Jesus-you can pray on that for me!! A “latte” love coming from your momma-in-love!!

    • I am blest that your son who I fell in love with is so supportive of my crazy Jesus callings. And you ARE bold– God is leading you!

  11. Momma Lex

    Oops-I forgot-I emailed your blog to a friend and I shared on facebook!! I love lattes!!

    • Thanks for sharing this Ma! You are such a stellar cheerleader– and I will definitely owe you a latte next time you come to Georgia. Miss you!

  12. This is SO COOL! We love hearing your stories about how the Factor of 7 is changing lives!

  13. Pingback: Sabbatical brought to you by: Generosity and Grace « 7 Days Time

  14. LOVE LOVE LOVE it sister!! I have been on the receiving end of times like these so often… God is amazing how He works through those willing to serve, and how He provides just when it’s needed. Thank you for allowing Him to use you so mightily!!! 🙂

  15. Pingback: To All His Good and Faithful Servants « 7 Days Time

  16. mandygramkow

    Just spent some time catching up on your blog. This is SO neat! Way to listen to the Holy Spirit’s prompting. I love it when that happens! And it takes courage to be brave like that too. Loving on people…so awesome! So thankful for those like you who have such a giving heart. I really think giving is part of healing too…

  17. Pingback: A Latte Love from Fort Benning Bayonet « 7 Days Time

  18. Brandy Herwig

    I just read the story in The Bayonet and had to come and tell you tha it brought tears to my eyes!!! I feel truly blessed even though I wasn’t at the starbucks that day… It has seriously made me think of things I can do in the future to bless those around me 🙂 I love when reading about something like this can renew my faith and hope for the future!!!!!

    • Well I sure didn’t want to make you cry (wink) but super thrilled that this moved you! Sometimes we just need to have our eyes open, ready for God to move. Blessings to you Brandy!

  19. Pingback: Birthday Bests « 7 Days Time

  20. Pingback: Ideas Wanted: Factor of 7 « 7 Days Time

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

