Because Jesus Told Me To

People think I am crazy. Hey, sometimes I think I am crazy too. (We have covered this thought in several posts prior to this one.) But sometimes a little crazy is a good thing.

Last week during my quiet time, God led me to the Message version of Philippians 3:13-14. I literally laughed out loud because it reminded me of this ministry.

“I’m not saying that I have this all together, that I have it made. But I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who has so wondrously reached out for me. Friends, don’t get me wrong: By no means do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward—to Jesus. I’m off and running, and I’m not turning back.”

That should be my mission statement for 7 Days Time ministry. I am making it up as I go, listening to the Lord, taking it one slightly crazy step at a time.

Yesterday at staff meeting, we watched part of a message from Pastor Steven Furtick. That dude is legit. And motivational. Hence the ra-ra-shish-koom-ba-ness of this post.

It is already finished.

Here’s the overall gist of Pastor Furtick’s message: Stepping out and loving the Lord in your daily life can be a little scary. But remember: You don’t have to have the courage to see it finished. You just need the faith to get it started. God already has it all planned out. The mission was finished when Christ hung on that cross the rose three days later. We are just the blessed tools that God has chosen to use to spread that love throughout the world.

Pastor Furtick reminded us in that video that if people don’t laugh at our vision, then we are not dreaming big enough.

So the good news: I’ve been laughed at. Kind of a lot.

Laughed at and questioned. And when folks question me, this is usually how it goes:

WHY do you have a masters degree if you are just going to work at a church for free? Because Jesus told me to. 

WHY do you go to the trouble of blogging every single day? Because Jesus told me to.

WHY do you take $107 each month and do something kind for people you will probably never see again? Because Jesus told me to.

WHY… WHY….WHY…..?!?!?

Because Jesus told me to.

Is God calling you to something? Remember that it doesn’t have to be significant or “profound.” Even the most insignificant task is incredibly important if it is done to glorify the Most Significant One who ever existed.

Tell your naysayers to stick THAT in their pipe and smoke it.

So WHATEVER God is calling you to… Do it. Don’t hesitate. Don’t question it. Just do it. Keep your eyes on the goal. Live a life of obedience. Work as if it is already completed. Because it is!

And when people ask you WHY you are doing something a little bit crazy? Bat your eyes, crack as sweet smile and say “Because Jesus told me to.”

Nodding and smiling towards the heavens,

SGK

“Everyone has heard about your obedience, so I am full of joy over you…” –Romans 16:19

What is God calling you to do? I would love to hear about it! Please leave a comment here. 

Categories: Courage, faith, glory, God, Jesus, obedience | Tags: , , , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Because Jesus Told Me To

  1. Jen Ferguson

    I LOVE your ministry here. I love how you write — how you get to the heart of the matter and you just cover it with truth. You are an inspiration and your comment on my post today totally made my heart sing!!!

  2. Hi Sharita – such a great post and such great encouragement. Your writing makes me want to get more involved. Thanks for linking it up to Winsome Wednesday and I look forward to seeing you there again next week.
    God bless
    Tracy

  3. “But remember: You don’t have to have the courage to see it finished. You just need the faith to get it started” Love that. Visiting from Tracy’s blog today!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Eileen! That quote is so encouraging, because sometimes thinking about WHAT He has called us to accomplish can keep us from starting if we think we have to do it on our own.

  4. I love how our clear focus gives us courage to continue. My problem is sometimes not wanting what Jesus calls me to unless it looks the way I want it to. (I’m in the middle of a post about “little” :-)) Great words from you today. Thanks so much.

    • Ha ha… sounds like we deal with the same thing… “But God, I want to do it THIS way!” Good thing He makes us so flexible. (Something about potter and clay I think?)

  5. fullherlife

    Thanks for sharing your passion over Jesus with us girl! Keep listening and walking! ~ Blessings sista’, Amy

  6. I struggle to be my usually Christian self without throwing out the “J” word at work – I want so badly to tell kids to pray about their issues and to seek answers from the Lord but it is so difficult with separation of church and state. However I have done it – because Jesus told me to.

    • That is so awesome, Kayla. I’m proud of you… I know we all have to have filters– but fortunately mine is broken most of the time.

  7. This has been printing and placed in my journal, it was perfect timing – 20 minutes after I prayed letting God know “I don’t understand where this is going, but I am stepping out in faith.”

    • That is SO awesome… I just said a little prayer for you to face whatever He is calling you to with faith and courage! 🙂

  8. I don’t know! Honestly I have been praying for clarity!!! I’m certain I am over thinking all of this.
    We need a new house for my children’s health …. remodeling this 100+ year old home is not gonna work (words of the banker & appraiser) BUT we can build or purchase a modular?! hhhhmmmm I have had the plans for a stick build home on my dream board for about 4 years. Last year my husband and I walked thru a modular home that would work for our family of 6 – its not ideal but it would fit into the budget and would be easier to get here.
    What is your Will Lord? ??What way is He calling us??
    Maybe my answer is still “WAIT!’
    I know He has a plan … and its gonna be GREAT when I am on the other side of this valley of confusion …. I HAVE FAITH IN THAT!!! I HAVE FAITH IN HIM!!!
    (o: ❤

    • Us? As women and Christians overthinking things? Nawwwww 😉 God’s answer for me on everything has been “Be” and “Wait.” So– are we there yet?

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

