Bad things. Good People. Great God.

I have heard this phrase in many conversations. I have witnessed it on Facebook statuses. I have even seen it on a billboard.

“Why do bad things happen to good people?”

That is a good question. And a tough one at that. I’m not gonna get all theological on you today (my brain isn’t quite up for that level of discussion) but I think that “Bad things” happen to “Good people” due to sin.

I don’t mean those folks who experience the “bad thing” have sinned. I mean, they have sinned… Shoot, we all have… but God doesn’t PUNISH us for things we do. That is what the cross is for. “Bad things” happen because we live in a fallen world. I would like to think that if Adam and Eve hadn’t messed it up for the rest of us, we wouldn’t have to deal with things like pain, sickness, loss, death, betrayal.

But let’s be honest. If it wasn’t Adam and Eve, I’m sure somebody else would have come along 15 seconds later and jacked it up for us. Sigh. Isn’t human nature (and Satan) frustrating?!!

Anyways, bad things happen to good people in this life. I’m willing to bet you are sitting there nodding your head thinking “Tell me about it, sista.”

But here’s the good news… Even though bad things happen to good people, we have a great God. The other night during prayer week at church, we were briefly looking at Job chapter 38. God is reminding Job that HE is bigger. HE is the creator. He is THE ONE.

As I sat there and mediated, God gave me these words:

“Only when we start from the bottom of the valley can we truly appreciate the mountaintop. When we experience how bad it can be, we can know how great God IS. He is above it all.” 

In essence, we have to go through the crappy (pardon my French) parts of life to TRULY experience the fullness of God’s love. Otherwise, what kind of heaven would we have to look forward to??

When your path seems uncertain... Know that the God of Love and Peace is guiding your footsteps!

In the last few months, I have encountered several good people going through some pretty “bad things” in life. My beloved boss and mentor dealing with the loss of her husband’s grandmother while BOTH of her parents battle cancer. A soldier who lost his wife and daughter, now a single father to his 11-year-old son. A close friend struggling an illness. Another friend questioning her purpose in life.

We’ve all been there. I don’t know where you find yourself today. Are you in the midst of a “bad thing?” Or coming out of it? Or perhaps facing it soon? Take heart. We have SUCH an incredible promise of a future world with no pain or heartache. And while we walk through our current “bad things,” God is walking with us. Daily. Know that while bad things might happen to good people… we can rely on an incredibly GREAT God.

Thankful to worship a kind, loving, merciful God,
SGK

“I’m thanking you, God, out loud in the streets, singing your praises in town and country. The deeper your love, the higher it goes; every cloud is a flag to your faithfulness.” –Psalm 57:9 (MSG) 

Have you ever been through a “bad thing?” How did God see you through? (Or if you are going through a “bad thing” right now, leave a comment here and I will pray for you. Or you can email me via sharita{dot}knobloch{at}gmail{dot}com.)

Categories: affirmation, challenge, Christ, cross, death, faith, God, Goodness, life, Live, mercy, pain, promises | Tags: , , , , , , , | 30 Comments

Post navigation

30 thoughts on “Bad things. Good People. Great God.

  1. Well said WELL SAID!!!
    (o:

    • Thanks, Susan– It’s definitely the truth! I have to tell myself this ALL. THE. TIME. Someday we will reach the mountain top!

  2. Momma Lex

    I believe when bad things happen to good people, God is giving us an opportunity to give Him the glory and use that opportunity to serve others through Him. I’ve seen it happen many times-you and Brandon are a good example. Sometimes bad things just happen and I thank God He is there to carry us through the valley on the way to the mountain top!! Love you!

    • Amen, Mama Lex, amen. When bad things happen, we DO have a choice… And such a great chance to bring glory to God remembering that He DOES know what he is doing… All the time. Love you too!

  3. Connie Johnston

    I start my day reading about ways you inspire people through the words of God and I thank you so much for helping me to start my day off right. We are also going through some bad times right now and could really use your prayers. Please say a special prayer for Chad:)

    • Momma Lex

      Connie,
      Prayers have been sent for Chad….

    • Oh Connie… While I am thankful that these words lift you up, I wish with EVERYTHING in my heart that you weren’t in a situation where you needed lifting. Chad has been on my heart SO MUCH lately and literally pray for him daily (if not several times a day.) Love you guys!!

  4. Kathy LaCross

    I LOVE your blog and some days it’s like you are writing just to me and today was one of those days! Thank you soooooo much for this! My family is struggling to come out the other side of a bad time and although I wish we never had to go through it, the bad time brought someone very close to us into the life of Christ and for that, I will never regret this bad time. I know and hope soon we will be standing on the mountaintop instead of in the valley and what a glorious view it will be but I’m thankful that I have never had to walk this journey alone, I’ve had God beside me every step of the way. I also know that God put me in this life for a reason and I am strong enough to live through this bump in the road because God is right here with me helping me on the days that the journey seems too hard. Thank you soooooooo much for helpful words!
    I will pray for anyone who needs prayers! Connie, I’m praying for Chad and your family.

    • Kathy, so thankful that these words spoke to you today! I will be remembering you in my prayers, for God to carry you up to the mountaintop. And Praise Him for bringing another of His children to salvation! He really DOES use everything for good!

      PS: Thanks for praying for Chad!! What a great prayer network we have going here. Love you all!

  5. Beautifully written, bless you.

  6. fullherlife

    The story of Job intrigues me so!!! Thanks for sharing and talking through this topic a little. The focus for me is definitely on ….. GOD’S sovereignty! As you so beautifully stated, “He IS above it all”. Glory to God sista’! 🙂 ~ Blessings, Amy

    • Thank you Amy… You are such a blessing to me!! I cannot wait to meet you at SheSpeaks! Is it July yet? (Oh wait… I take that back… I need to work on my speeches 🙂 )

  7. Thank you for this. I feel in a bit of a valley right now as my sons are getting mixed up in some bad stuff and have lost their faith in God. Yet, they were raised to love Him so I have to keep looking up.

    • Shanda, I will definitely pray for you tonight! I pray that God carries you out of the valley so you can reach the mountaintop! (And same goes for your sons.)

      Also, I really appreciate the “Blog Hop” page on your website. SUCH a stellar resource for me! So thankful I discovered it today 🙂 Blessings to you sister!

  8. I am so glad that our God is the master of taking all the “bad things” and turning them around in my life… and I agree that although sorrow and trial are painful… they provide a deeper graditude for the blessings! … My mom went home to be with Jesus only 3 weeks ago, although that is not a “bad thing” it is painful because while we are apart… I miss her. But how could I know God as the amazing comforter He is without needing His comfort? right? 🙂 He is so good! and I am so blessed!

    • Oh Danise, sorry for your loss! Prayers to you, sister. You are right– it isn’t a “bad thing” but it sure hurts. Fortunately, we have a promise from Him that we will someday all get to be together again! Praise the God of all comfort 🙂

  9. welcomingspirit

    This topic is one of the tough ones for sure. I know I have struggled with it myself, and my reflection, at least for the situation I was dealing with, was that God left each person to make their own choice. When someone does something bad to someone else, well, I think the “recipient” of that bad choice needs to know and learn and hear that whatever happened was not about them, but about the other person. Easier said, for sure, than done. Thank you for allowing me to think about this and how it relates to other “bad things” – I’d love to have you link up on my blog hop 🙂 http://bit.ly/KcSXyS
    Paula at Welcoming Spirit

    • Thanks so much for stopping by, Paula and great words on this topic. I “hopped” over and linked up. Hopefully it’s showing up now (it wasn’t a few minutes ago. Oh technology. 🙂 ) Blessings to you!

  10. Hi Sharita – Great post. I should print this out and give it to my mother. She is not born-again but always asks, if there is a God why all the bad things? You have stated it very well.
    God bless
    Tracy

    • Wow Tracy, thanks! If you do give it to your mom, let me know what she thinks… One little Jesus loving seed at a time 🙂

  11. dukeslee

    Those seven words: “That is what the cross is for …” I’m just hanging on to those. So much of our internal struggles and outward battles and self-blame and self-condemnation can be filed under that category. Thank you for that. And thank you for linking.

    Such a helpful, thoughtful post.

    • You are very welcome– thanks for hosting the link up 🙂 So thankful these words have blessed you. (God blessed me too as I was writing them!)

  12. Love it! I just blogged today, also mentioning Job, about how God brings us to our breaking point… Love it!! He truly is an awesome, amazing, and wonderful God…even when we don’t feel it!! 🙂 Thanks!!

    • Appreciate the comment, Nicole! I am not gonna lie… I really don’t enjoy reading Job– I mean, it is so depressing– that is until we realize how God redeems! Praise the Lord for that one!

      • joepote01

        Sharita, when I’m going thru tough times, Job is one of my favorite books.

        When I’m really hurting and wondering why God doesn’t seem to be caring for me, I crave the wisdom of someone like Job who has experienced similar trials…and found God to be faithful in the end.

  13. joepote01

    Oh, yes! I’ve had my share of difficulty.

    And you’re right…the trials of this life only make sense in the shadow of the cross of Christ.

    Our God isn’t sitting in heaven watching our struggles for his own amusement. No, Our God became a man, so He could personally share in our suffering, pain, and sorrow…and provide redemption!

    What a Savior!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Joe! So thankful that God does have a plan for ALL of our trials on earth… he definitely turns them into triumphs, just as He triumphed over the grave. Blessings to you brother!

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

