Keeping it Real (Five Minute Friday)

Waawhoo! It’s one of my top five blogging days of the week. (Oh wait… I blog five days a week… Nevermind.) It’s Five Minute Friday, folks. Long story short, each Friday I link up with The Gypsy Mama. She gives us a prompt and we write. Yep, for five minutes. No overthinking. No editing. No quest for perfectionism. Just write.

So without further ado, let’s get this party started.

Today’s prompt: REAL.

Ready? GO!

“So… Do you think they are… REAL?!!?”

This question is probably uttered by most women in America on a weekly basis. (And if not uttered out loud, at least the thought runs through their brain. Myself included.) Maybe they are referring to diamonds or pearls, fingernails, a hairdo, boobs (yeah, I said it), or even personality.

Side note: This post isn’t a judgment post. Hey, I own a real diamond. Perhaps a string of pearls.  I have dyed my hair. And sometimes in excessively awkward social situations, I have to fake “it” until I can get to the car or my beloved hubby is done socializing with his bromances. I am thankful that for the most part, when it comes to my heart, what you see is what you get. Sometimes, I am a little TOO real. (Can you say broken filter? Talk about word vomit. Yikes.)

People are so concerned about “realness” of the things above… Seriously– does it REALLY matter? What does matter is the authenticity of our faith. When it comes to faith… let’s just keep it real, huh? Fake faith is… well… fake. A lie. We all struggle. We are sinners. We don’t have to pretend we have it all together. Because we don’t. The only person who had it all together was Jesus.

Fortunately for us, our God is real. Authentic. Merciful. Kind. Loving. And we can rejoice in that.

So today, let’s be comfortable in our own skin, right where we are. We worship a God who knows we are pretty jacked up but  loves us anyways… No matter what our hair or fingernails look like, or how we are wrestling with our “heart troubles.”  He loves us just the way we are…

Here’s to keeping it real for Christ.

STOP

Hmmmm… well…. THAT was interesting. I am always surprised with what my brain/fingers come up with during Five Minute Friday. What do you think? Leave a comment here. 

Keeping it Real with Christ,
SGK

“Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious…” –Philippians 4:8 (MSG) 

Categories: attitude, Christ, Comfort, encouragement, Five Minute Friday, funny, perception | Tags: , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Keeping it Real (Five Minute Friday)

  1. fur reals?!
    Another great blog … I’ll be sending it on to just the right couple of friends (o:
    Thanks Sharita!! Have a wonderful weekend!!

    • Ha ha, fur realz, Susan. Hope it speaks to your friends– thanks so much for being such a stupendous supporter of this ministry.

  2. jubileesong

    “What does matter is the authenticity of our faith.”

    Yep. Well said. Isn’t it funny how much we worry about the authenticity of rocks, pearls or fingernails, and don’t bother about the realness of our faith? Definitely a double standard there. Great post! 🙂

    • Thank you so much! I know I am guilty of that double standard sometimes– more concerned if my nail polish is “professional” enough or if my highlighted roots are showing too much as opposed to how authentic I am being in my faith. Thankfully, God always brings me back around with a loving wake-up call.

  3. a simple princess

    Popped over from Lisa-Jo’s…and I am so glad I did!!
    Great post!! I adore your writing style and well, the way your fingers and brain work!
    Joining you in keeping it real for Christ!!

    • Your comment made me smile! I love the REAL love from FMF and our awesome blogging community 🙂 Thank you SO much for stopping by!

  4. Your blog reflects just how REAL you are….luv it… May God bless you as you continue to keep your faith REAL.

    • Thank you SO much… I went through a time in my life (late high school-ish) where my enthusiasm and need to be “Funny” almost drowned out my “real” self. I am glad that God has brought me full circle and helps me to keep it real… daily. Blessings to you sister!

  5. fullherlife

    Hey Girlie, were you drinking caffeine when you wrote this, this morning… LOL! 😉 I could feel your 5 minute energy pouring through… loved it, and love seeing God shine in you! God is for REAL! ~ Blessings out sista’, Amy

    • Hmm… Actually, I didn’t have any caffeine until after I wrote this AND did my work out. Maybe it was straight up Jesus caffeine?? Thankful that HE is for real–and you are a real-great gal. 🙂 Thanks for all the RTs!

  6. Sharita,
    Love your voice and the fact that it makes me think I know you. Your realness is refreshing, and oh, the fact that you can work the word boobs into a post doesn’t hurt either!

    Happy weekend!

  7. I’ve seen a few with fake faith and it’s not pretty! I always thing people with real and fresh faith begin glowing on the inside until the face shows it–people like you.

    • Oh Pamela– that means so much to me. Yes, it breaks my heart to see “fake faith.” But I am thankful that I can be real in His presence– even if it scares people sometimes 😉

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

