“Uh, You Better Answer That.” (Five Minute Friday)

Well folks, it’s that time again. Friday already. I know, right? Time flies when you are living for Jesus.

You know the rules… I link up with The Gypsy Mama. She gives us a prompt. We write. For 5 minutes flat. No overthinking. No editing.

So without further ado… here we go.

Todays prompt: OPPORTUNITY

GO!

****

Tap, tap, tap…

“HEY! Somebody’s at the door! Uh, you better answer that.”

There are few things in life more exciting (ok, or sometimes more annoying) than an unexpected knock on the door. It could be a visit from a great friend ready for a coffee chat. It could be something you have been anticipating for a whole 32 minutes (aka, the pizza delivery guy.) Or maybe it is a door-to-door salesman or someone you are trying to avoid.

OR… It could be an opportunity from God.

Uh, yeah. You better answer that.

God is a polite guy. He knocks. He doesn’t just barge in. Sure, He orchestrates plans and reveals himself to us in new and refreshing ways. Sometimes we embrace Him like that long lost friend (or pizza guy) and other times we want to shut off the lights, close the blinds, hide behind the couch and pretend that we aren’t home.

But here’s the thing. God knows we are there. And when He knocks with new opportunity or challenge– yeah, we better answer that.

When we open that door, we are taking a step of faith. His opportunity and calling on our life might be exciting, anticipated or down right please-don’t-make-me-get-that-I-might-just-pee-down-my-leg scared.

Regardless of our current position on the other side of that door, we must remember that God is faithful. And when God’s opportunity knocks…

Uh, yeah. You better answer that.

STOP!

****
Even after all this time, that is still such a great adrenaline rush. I don’t know about you, but I’m spent. Thanks a bajillion for stopping by… Praying that these words blessed you today. (Your presence AND comments sure bless me…)

Five Minute Friday High Five,
SGK

“Here I am! I stand at the door andย knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.” — Revelation 3:20

PS: Is there a “God-opportunity” knocking on your door today? Or have you answered Him before? What was the result? ย I would love to hear all about it. Please leave a comment below!

Categories: affirmation, God, Jesus, obedience, plans | Tags: , , , , , | 23 Comments

Post navigation

23 thoughts on ““Uh, You Better Answer That.” (Five Minute Friday)

  1. daylilyoverflow

    Oof, so true! That one kind of hits you in the gut! Well-written, my friend in our five minute scribblers! Thank you for sharing!

    • Thank you so much! And sometimes God gives us a gut-check… and it is usually starts with me ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I loved this. I want to make sure that I answer when He knocks (even if it’s a scary pee down my leg time lol )! There’s no better place to be then at the center of His will doing what He wants!

    Blessings~
    Shari

    • I’m right there with ya, sister. Sometimes it scares me beyond all reason– but you are so right! There’s no better place to be than in the middle of His will!

  3. what a fun post! wouldn’t life be different if we answered the door with anticipation each time?

    • I know, right? Maybe we SHOULD start pretending God is the Pizza Guy (bring an extra dessert covered in chocolate?)

  4. Uh, yeah, we are gonna answer that. And its gonna be wild, great, and full of HIM.

  5. There are times in every life when just rising for a new day is an answer to that knock. “Don’t sleep” “Try again”. Each time we pray the Lord’s Prayer we recite the words “thy will be done” , words that we can either say with trepidation or with anticipation, or a little of both; but that always speak of opportunity. Nice post.

    • Oh Lori-Ann… Love how you put that! “Trepidation or anticipation or both, but that always speak of opportunity.” Gosh, ain’t that the truth! Thank you for sharing your heart on here. It blessed me.

  6. Yep, I’m answering the door. Can’t wait to see what He has behind it. Nice FMF.

  7. I’m so thankful I stopped by today. My heart is tuned in to answering knocks and opening doors today. What a great reminder that God is a gentlemen. He does knock and most softly! However, sometimes I think I could use the full fledge pounding on the door so I’d realize He’s knocking. Which basically let’s you in on the fact that I’m being still and listening at the moment. Happy 5MF!

    http://www.positivelyalene.com/

    • I wish He would pound on the door too… And sometimes He does– especially when I refuse to listen/answer the door. He’s persistent, that God. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Every time I come here, I’m like, yep, I like her.

    • Every time you come here and I read your comments, I snort laugh. You rock, Amy! Thanks for making me giggle.

      PS: I really like you too!

  9. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: Opportunity | Even A Girl Like Me

  10. fullherlife

    That’s so funny… God just knocked on my door too. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ~ Blessings girl, Amy

    • So excited for God knocking on our doors! Here’s to getting out from behind the couch ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. brooke

    Yes…God provided me an opportunity to be strong today and not fall completely to pieces. I did cry a little but i wiped off my face, said a prayer and charged forward. And I am grateful I did. Can’t tell you how many times I have been too scared to answer His knocks. But I did it today and can tomorrow too! Thanks for sharing your heart!

    • I commend you in that, Brooke. I pray that the dose of Jesus courage to answer the door does in fact continue for you… Blessings and you courageous press forward and discover what is behind Jesus door number 2. (And three… and four… and…)

  12. Thanks cuz, now every time the door knocks I’m gonna answer or an opportunity reveals itself ill be the first to take it, ๐Ÿ™‚

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

