God Only Knows Where We’d Be

I was never a crier. I was the tough girl. I once went through an entire semester at college without crying.

And then I fell in love. With a soldier. And with Jesus.

At one point in my life, my heart was hardened. I was not compassionate and completely confident that I could make “it” on my own. Tears were not an issue. I had it together.

And then I feel in love. With a soldier. And with Jesus.

Today is Memorial Day. A day of tribute. A day of remembrance. I am forever thankful for our soldiers– and for Jesus.

Many people post tributes and touching pictures on Facebook in support of our troops. That’s great. But I have quite a different perspective. See, I am married to one of those soldiers. And not just married to him, but deeply in love with him.

My beloved has served overseas three times. He’s been shot at. He’s watched his battle buddies fall. All the while– he clung tight to Jesus. And led me into a relationship with Christ much deeper than I could have ever imagined.

As my relationship with my soldier and my Christ has deepened, my heart as been softened. I try to avoid “tearjerker” videos because I still don’t like to cry. But it is hard not to be overcome with emotion– primarily in the form of gratitude- when I stop to really consider what my beloved husband AND what Christ has done for us.

They both have willingly offered to DIE for me. Simply the thought of this type of love moves my heart.

The song “Soldiers and Jesus” by James Otto sums it up pretty well.

(If you couldn’t view the video in your email, click HERE to watch.)

Have you EVER really stopped to think about the sacrifice from Christ and our soldiers? How does it make you feel? How have you experienced life from another’s sacrificial love? Please don’t be shy… Share your comments below.

So today, lets take a moment to give thanks for those who have given us a hope and a future by laying down their lives. There’s only two people who have ever died for me… Soldiers and Jesus. Without them… God only knows where we’d be.

Thankful beyond measure,
SGK

“Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.” –John 15:13

Categories: army, blessing, Christ, cross, death, fight, freedom, glory, God, Jesus, life, sacrifice, soldier, Tribute | Tags: , , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “God Only Knows Where We’d Be

  1. marybethketchum

    Thank YOU for your sacrifice by loving a husband who serves in the military!

    Like you, the only people who have ever died for me are Jesus and soldiers. Words cannot express how grateful I am.

    Thanks for sharing,
    Mary Beth
    newlifesteward.com

    • We really appreciate the support, Mary Beth. It’s a constant opportunity to grow closer to Christ, especially when we really stop to think about what it is at stake. Blessings to you!

  2. I think about Christ’s sacrifice for me all the time. But I fail to think about the sacrificed being made every day around the world for my freedom. Thanks for this beautiful reminder. And thanks to your hubby:)

    • Thanks, Christina. I am actually sometimes the opposite– It is almost more natural to think about the sacrifices that soldiers make everyday– probably because I am living it. (Oh, you won’t be home for supper again, dear? We aren’t sure where we are moving next? Okee dokee. Sigh.)

      But in those moments of sacrifice, all I have to do is take one look at the cross in my living room– and it brings it all back into perspective. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. It is an incredible gift when someone is willing to lay down their life for their friend and neighbor! What an honor it is for you to be married to a man like that. Blessings to you and your husband this Memorial Day! Praise God for the sacrifice He made for us…

    • Appreciate the support, Joan. It is truly an honor– and oftentimes a challenge. (I have to lean on 1 Thess. 5:24 on a regular basis– “The One who called you is faithful and will do it.”)

      He is a pretty incredible man– especially how he places Christ above all else.

  4. I’m trying to choose my words carefully. This song touched me so deeply and on many levels. “Where would we be without soldiers and Jesus?” is for me a complex multi-level question. The power behind the song, of course, lies in the juxtaposition of the images of human violence side by side with divine and unconditional love. It forces us to ask how it is these opposites can exist together within the world and thus in the heart of humankind. The meaning of the song’s repeated question re-frames in my mind to “Where would we be without the NEED of soldiers?” I could not help but hear the question that way, the same words with a different emphasis. There is such grief in the realization that we creatures, designed in the image of our God, are responsible for this continual tragedy. Soldiers give their lives “for” humankind, and yet “because” of humankind. It’s a painful vision. And the question replays again with two meanings colliding inside my brain, multi-layered and impossible to look away from. The selfish needs of collective humankind, met with the selflessness of an individual soldier. David meeting Goliath. Humankind meeting itself.

    • Lori-Ann, I love how your brain works. Seriously, girl. You have such an incredible perspective! I agree with you– I wish with all my heart we lived in a world where we didn’t NEED soldiers… but thanks to the total depravity of humankind, we are kind of out of luck on that avenue.

      However– I cling to the hope of 1) heaven and 2) Jesus will eventually be back. And oh, what a great day that will be.

      Thank you for your deep and enlightening thoughts. Your comments are a blessing on here!

      • Funny, but I was writing to you while you were writing to me. And even funnier the comment I was writing begins with the word serendipitously. Thanks for your kind words.

  5. I am looking at Lori-Ann’s poignant questions in her comment, and thinking how Christ too gave His life “for” humankind, and yet “because” of humankind, who did the physical act of nailing Him to that cross — for and because of us, because of our selfishness and sin. Deep tragedy, deep love incomprehensible.
    But that wasn’t what I was going to say, which was how I went through a time when I didn’t cry either. Nary a tear. Went hard. Supposedly to protect myself, but it did nothing of the kind. Those tears are good and wash away a lot of toxins sometimes. Sounds odd maybe, but I’m glad you and I both can use God’s gift of tears now.

    • Such a weird dynamic, huh Sylvia? I am right there with you– giving His life FOR yet BECAUSE of our fallenness. That is true love and sacrifice.

      Yes, I liked the outward appearance of never crying– my I didn’t enjoy the view from the inside out. My heart HURT. And I have learned, much like you, that sometimes a good cry WILL fix a lot of things– especially as we cry out for the help of Christ. Thank you so much for stopping by!

  6. First of all thank you for y’all’s service to our country, providing the freedoms most take for granted. It is because of people like y’all that we are able to live the way we do! I loved how you brought your husband and Jesus together, that they both were willing to die for you. My dad and brother are in the military, yet I had never thought of it that way. Thank you for sharing your heart. Stoppin by from the link up 🙂 http://simplyhelpinghim.blogspot.com/

  7. Such a powerful tribute. Thank you, to your man for his service. He sure looks like Jesus.

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

