Just GO

As I child, I didn’t get out much. (Hey, we lived on a farm. In the country. At least 15-25 miles from a legitimate restaurant. In fact, the first 10 years of my life found us 90 miles from the nearest Wal-Mart. Seriously.) So when we did get the chance to go ANYWHERE as a family, I wanted to know WHERE we were going… Immediately.

“HEY! WHERE ARE WE GOING!?!” (Imagine this forceful statement in your best childlike slightly whiny/curious voice.)

For those of you who haven’t met my beloved Daddy, he is something of a smart aleck. (Good thing that’s not hereditary, right?) Whenever I asked this oh-so-vital question, it was met with one of the following answers:

“We are going down the road.”

“North.”

“Forward.”

And my all-time favorite…

“We’re going crazy.”

Needless to say, I led quite an exasperating childhood. 🙂 Unfortunately, I haven’t grown out of this need-to-know attitude. I still do the same thing with my Heavenly Father.

And, not surprisingly, His answers are similar to my Dad’s answers from my days of youth. (Minus the “crazy” response.)

Stop-go

Source HERE

Last week, my beloved boss/coach/mentor/friend Kelli and I attended the Blackaby Spiritual Leadership Coaching Seminar. It was a pilot program and we went not really knowing where it was going to take us.

We went hoping for some information– but came home with transformation. WOWZERS.

On that three day journey, we had an opportunity to experience God at a very deep level. He revealed some incredible things within our hearts. And gave me a new path down which to travel.

He has called me to become certified as a Spiritual Leadership Coach.

It’s a long story, but it was literally life-changing for me. When I realized this affirming call on my life I was excited. I was tearful. I was grateful.

I was terrified beyond all reason.

I didn’t really want to go there. I mean, this was big. Like, potential career stuff. I don’t know what it all looks like for me yet. I tried to convince God that perhaps He had the wrong person. On Friday morning before we departed, we had an opportunity to spend a few moments in His presence as we “Reported for Duty.” (It was a short time of “CRAVE”– experiencing God through prayer and listening.)

As I sat there with my head on my table, arguing with the Lord to change His mind about this Spiritual Leadership Coaching hoopla, He silenced me. He gave me this word:

“My beloved. GO. Go out. Go forward. Go faithfully. Go humbly. Go with Me. Go all out. GO! You don’t have to know specifically where you are going… But go with Me so you can live as you fully went.” 

Oh snap. Ok, Jesus. You have my attention. I was encouraged… Yes, I was still nervous to turn in my commitment card to begin down the path of Spiritual Leadership Coach certification, but I knew I had to GO. Just GO.

Is God calling you to something right now? What is holding you back? Where is He asking you to go? What will it take to follow Him? I would love to hear (and be encouraged!) by your thoughts. Please leave a comment below.

Honestly, I don’t know for sure what becoming a Spiritual Leadership Coach looks like. I am not sure where it is going to take this ministry or our lives. However, I do know that I would love to be look back and say that I WENT with all I had. Won’t you join me on this journey? Don’t hesitate. Don’t worry about all the little details, corners or where you will end up. If we are going with Our Father, we know it is going to be the trip of a lifetime. So let’s buckle up and JUST GO.

Just Going Down the Road with Christ,
SGK

“By faith Abraham, when called to go to a place he would later receive as his inheritance, obeyed and went, even though he did not know where he was going.” –Hebrews 11:8

Categories: adventure, affirmation, call, challenge, changes, Christ, faith, fear | Tags: , , , , , , | 33 Comments

Post navigation

33 thoughts on “Just GO

  1. Packed and ready, my friend. Let’s do this!

  2. nmetzler

    So…when the kids that I babysit walk in the house and say, “What are we doing today?” I almost ALWAYS say, “Oh, we’re going to go crazy in the woods.” 🙂

    So excited for you as you follow His voice!

    • Thanks, Natasha… My beloved hubby is now the one who is obsessed to know where we are going, how far we have went and how quickly that little blue dot is moving on our ipad map app. 🙂 Fortunately– he is much more flexible when it comes to our walk with Christ.

  3. Bless you for heeding the call.

    • Thanks Denise… Pray for me– I have a sneaky suspicion this could be a wild (wonderful) ride!

  4. Serendipitously, I just learned of this idea of a spiritual guide. I was thinking of trying this out on the other end, as a client. Lately I have been working towards incorporating female images of God into my visualizations of the divine. It’s not as easy as I thought it would be. It’s even a little jarring to realize how challenging it is to envision femaleness in God. Even the word God is a challenge. I had always balked at the word Goddess, but I am seeing now that playing with the word is an important ritual. I don’t think I will ever emerge as a radical feminist, although my reading of late has made me feel relatedness here. I had always considered myself a feminist, of course, just not radical. Personally, I am not interested in eliminating the maleness of God all together, but rather to merge the male with the female. I have to add that I have learned that not all radical feminists are calling to bludgeon the maleness out of the divine presence. It’s a relatively small portion that does, I think. I suppose, in a way, there is something calling me. Whether Jesus is calling me to explore this or not, I can’t say. Jesus is one of the stumbling blocks for me. It doesn’t help that Jesus came into the world through a woman. The fact of maleness still seems to dominate. I imagine people will come hoping to pursue their faith from a variety of angles. I don’t know whether this adds or subtracts in terms of your apprehension towards your decision to pursue your goal of being certified. “Can you convince me of God’s femaleness?” How do you feel about a client coming in with such a request? .

    • Lori-Ann, I love your quest…maybe reading The Shack would help you in your visualizations. It sure did me!

      • I had been resisiting reading The Shack for some reason. Maybe, the timing just wasn’t right. I’ll try to get a copy. Thanks Diane.

      • I haven’t had a chance to read The Shack yet either– been hearing about it for years… 🙂

    • Wow, Lori-Ann, that’s deep– and quite a lot to process. Let me see…

      First thing to know is that a spiritual leadership coach helps you discover the answer for yourself through the work of the Holy Spirit. So quite honestly, I don’t have a direct answer for your quandary. (However, I am sure God does– let’s ask Him!)

      You are quite right that folks will come from all angles of faith and walks of life. While to the human heart answering hard questions sound ridiculously intimidating, I am reassured that God isn’t calling me to do this on my own. (If He was, the answer would be nada.) Your tough question doesn’t detour me from this calling by way of apprehension… Instead, it is affirming that I don’t have to have the answers. (WHEW!) I am fully confident that God has all the answers we need– and all we have to do is seek Him out.

      So my answer straight up to your question is no, I can’t convince you of ANYTHING… However, when we leave it up to God, that’s a whole different discussion. Who knows what He would say on the topic?

      Does that make sense? Please feel free to email me at sharita {dot} knobloch {at} gmail {dot} com if you want to chat about this further. Thanks for your thoughts!

  5. Keri Robbins

    Amen sister!!! He is so kind to give strength to our hearts when the unknown seems terrifying. I can’t think of anything more terrifying than missing out on the fullness of God because of fear. I enjoy hearing how the Lord speaks to you, and I am looking forward to seeing the influence He gives to you to speak truth in radical ways that empowers others to take huge leaps of faith 🙂 bless you

    • You are too sweet, friend! And yes, praise the Lord for strengthening our hearts for the journey ahead. Praying for you 🙂

  6. Sharita, what an awesome calling!

    I just became certified as a Health Minister. And I’m wondering and waiting on The LORD as to what to actually do with it. I’m starting with a new blog called Health for Life (www.3john2.com) as a starting point. So, maybe for you, starting with another blog or website might also be a starting point.

    I’ve asked The LORD to give me a Mission Statement. Maybe that would be good for you as well.

    I’m very excited for you! God bless you as you take the leap of faith!

    • Thanks so much for the suggestions, Diane! I am still letting this very new and profound info marinate as I pray through it. Excited to see what God reveals to me in the coming months. Blessings to you!

  7. Leah Addington

    Thanks Sharita…I believe God is speaking through you right to my heart today…lots to contemplate on “my call”.

    • So, so happy to hear that, Mrs. Addington! I love when the words and the heart meet at just the right time. Praying that your call becomes clear to you… and you can JUST GO after it!

  8. Thanks, Sharita…your clarity and joy of expression remind me, the journey is incredible.While the destination is indescribable, it is in the going that we see, experience, and know God.

    • Love the way you put that, Ken… In the last year I have learned how to experience God, but have a sneaky feeling that this new call is going to be revolutionary in that area of my life. Praying that you and Kelly are still experiencing God to the fullest after our powerful time last week. So great to meet you and thanks a million for stopping by 🙂

  9. Your weekend sounds wonderful end to end. The trip of a lifetime, indeed!!
    I am with you on being terrified and excited. I was in your shoes last year, and am having a blast doing what I love, and working my way from blogging to writing books to speaking, all to help women be their more joyful, content selves so they can be happier wives and moms.

    • It was a splendid week, Kim and thanks for the reassurance that being excited and terrified is ok. (Talk about your classic emotional roller coaster, huh?) Praise the Lord for your faithfulness to GO with Him obediently answering your call.

  10. Brooke

    Oh wow! How cool! I’m in a state of transition myself…as I’m trying to decide where the Lord wants me to go career wise. I could stay where I am at, but I sense my heart is unsettled and I’m not sure of where to go…but I want to help women who are hurting. I am having a hard time stopping and listening to Him…I keep wanting to talk to just figure it out. I, too, have the “where are we going” question running through my head constantly!!! I have goosebumps reading your story. I am so thankful you shared with us and I am so thankful you are going to keep us posted on your journey! We’ll be there every step of the way with you! I look forward to your blog and questions daily!

    • Wow, Brooke– that’s a lot to sort through. Praying that Jesus makes things clear for you sooner rather than later 🙂 Thanks so much for the affirmation and support on this new journey– your comments and cheering on mean so much to me!

  11. Thank you for the encouragement! My Pastor just finished a series on dreams! We tend to sit around and wait for the Lord to get moving instead of moving forward steps at a time. 🙂

    • What timing! And yes, we are a people who either want to A) “Help” God before He is ready for us to get involved or B) Wait as long as possible until we are forced to move.

      I think there is a delicate happy medium of seeing how God is working in our lives RIGHT NOW and moving with Him, whatever direction that might be! Thanks for the great perspective, Misty. Blessings to you!

  12. Going outside, which has been the case for many, many years has now changed. I’m supposed to spend more time INside… at home, at my desk in my office… writing and reading [posts of other folks] and connecting to the cyberspace world. Physically, I’d be willing and able to go just about anywhere to serve the Lord. But NOW? Still am, but miss the oceans and mountains and dear people both here and in other nations. Need to serve my Father any time, any place. So… just serving Him at this moment in time and read your post and “talked” to you. Guess that’s pretty nice, doncha think?

    • Oh Joanne, that’s really challenging. Isn’t it interesting how the Lord stretches us in new directions? I encourage you to press forward as He calls you to serve where you are– it will be incredibly worth it 🙂

  13. Thank you for sharing your awesome story At Tell Me a True Story. Hurry back soon. Becoming a spiritual counselor can be life changing for you and your clients. Allow Jesus to reveal truth to you in each session. Usually there is a lie the person believed early in childhood, and that lie must be dealt with and truth revealed. God Bless You in this endeavor.

    • Thanks, Hazel. I enjoy linking up! I am excited about the journey as a spiritual leadership coach and can’t wait to see what Jesus has in store for us each session. Blessings to you!

  14. Pingback: Operation Fortitude Fitness (Month #5) « 7 Days Time

  15. Pingback: Put me in, Coach!! « 7 Days Time

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

