A Lifestyle Fashion Statement

Hmmm… Ok… Should I wear my favorite blue shirt? Or maybe the one with pink stripes? If I do, maybe I could go with the hoop earrings? Or should I be dressier? Ok, let’s do the blue shirt with silver dangly earrings and my cross necklace. There. Decision made.

Oh wait. My blue shirt is in the dirty laundry. Sigh. Let’s try this again.

I am certainly not the most fashionable person on the planet—far from it, actually. I dress decent enough to get by, and if I really need to, can groom and clean up reasonably well. I’m not a girl who has to wear make up every time I leave the house and if you see me at the gym wearing mascara, you can assume that it is leftover from an event earlier in the day.

 We all have different tastes, needs and functions for our wardrobe, fashion and appearance. But there is one thing we can always wear, every day.

 Jesus.

Yeah, I said it. Wear Jesus. It says in Colossians 3:12-14 (MSG) “So, chosen by God for this new life of love, dress in the wardrobe God picked out for you: compassion, kindness, humility, quiet strength, discipline. Be even-tempered, content with second place, quick to forgive an offense. Forgive as quickly and completely as the Master forgave you. And regardless of what else you put on, wear love. It’s your basic, all-purpose garment. Never be without it.”

But here’s the thing about wearing our Jesus wardrobe. It might not always be the most fashionable. Sometimes it doesn’t seem to fit very well. Our Jesus outfit might even be uncomfortable on occasion.

However, when we wear it, we sure do look purty. (Or pretty for all of my non-southern readers.)

Note: As hard as you try, duct tape accessories will never be a legitimate fashion statement. Jesus, on the other hand, is a whole different story.

Putting on Christ should be the first thing we do in the morning, right after our trip to el bano and brushing our teeth. I am sure each and every one of you have a different method to “wearing” Christ— perhaps you wear it formally or in a low-key casual or some combination of the two.

It will probably look a little different for compared to anyone else around you.  However, Jesus is one accessory we should all put on.

Here’s the best part: this incredible fashion statement goes with everything, never shrinks or tears, doesn’t fade and can be the most expensive and remarkable thing we wear in our entire lives.

If you looked at yourself in the mirror right now, would you say that you are “wearing” Jesus? What does that look like to you? I would love to hear your thoughts– leave a comment below! 🙂

So as you stare at your closet, accessories, and shoes, take one moment to think about The One “accessory” you can’t live without. Put Him on every single day and wear Christ with pride. Who knows—He might just be the next big thing. And what a way to make a permanent lifestyle fashion statement!

Making a daily fashion statement with Jesus,
SGK

“Get out of bed and get dressed! Don’t loiter and linger, waiting until the very last minute. Dress yourselves in Christ, and be up and about!”–Romans 13:14 (MSG)

Categories: attitude, Christ, fashion, fresh start, God, life, Love | Tags: , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “A Lifestyle Fashion Statement

  1. Thank you! This immediately put me in the mindset to be sure that I was dressed (ala Eph. 6) and ready for my day. Blessings!

    • I thought of that verse too, Tina. (And I think that is actually one of the key verses that will be used for the kids camp in a couple of weeks.) Thanks so much for stopping by and being such a wonderful supporter of this ministry!

  2. Omagoodness! I just posted on the same thing, just ten days ago!
    http://sylvrpen.com/2012/05/how-really-to-dress-for-spiritual-success/
    We are definitely on the same page (in Colossians) on this! Cute photo, too, with the intriguing duct tape (really?!) accessories. Thanks for the reminder to stay dressed in Christ!

    • I’ve always heard that Jesus minds think alike 😉 I popped over and enjoyed your article as well! And yes, those really are duct tape accessories… I wore duct tape to my senior prom um yeah, like 8 years ago. That pic is from a Halloween party a few years later.

  3. This also reminds me to put on the full armor of God each day in Eph. 6. Lovely post. While it’s important to look nice, it’s more important to be clothes in the things of God.

    • AMEN to that, Mary Beth! I have a sticker in my car window on the dashboard that reminds me to put on the full armor of God daily. Talk about dressing for Jesus success! Thanks so much for stopping by and blessings to you girl!

  4. Today I have on my favorite shirt
    “This is my cleanest dirty shirt” and it features Pigpen from the Peanuts cartoon …….
    I total am putting on Jesus — right over yesterday’s dirty self (hhmmm that didn’t come out right – I do shower!! LOL)
    I try to start each day with a clean GRACE-FILLED layer of Jesus. How precious is that grace the hour I first believe ….. or wake ….. unending love …. amazing grace. {can you tell what I’m listening too right now?!)
    I love your blogs …. makes my mind spin with questions, praises, and areas I need to improve. Your blogs also comfort me and warm me and affirm that I AM WHO I AM SUPPOSED TO BE!! AND THAT CHRIST IS WHO HE SAYS HE IS!! HE IS KEEPING HIS PROMISED!!
    Each day I am stirred ….. You are such a blessing dear!! A wonderful Vessel ~~ pouring it all out according to HIS will to glorify HIM!! (O:
    Thank you so much Sharita …

    • As usual Susan, I REALLY appreciate your comments- not only is it affirming, but your comments make ME think too. Thanks so much for that!

      PS: Showering is so overrated. Unless you have been working out. Or have to be seen in public later 😉

  5. Brooke

    I would say that your post did remind me of Ephesians 6…..but one way I like to “dress” is to actually read a quick devotion in the morning and have a little prayer session with God prior to getting dressed for work…and then listening to praise music in the car on the way to work helps me dress with the things He wants for us…and not just the latest trend. I’m not super trendy or stylish, but I get by =). Those practical ways help remind me to stay clothed with Him in mind all day.

  6. Joan

    Great post. And let us not forget to put on our perfume! “For we are the aroma of Christ to God among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing,” (2 Corinthians 2:15)

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

