Lord, Thank You for the Socks (Five Minute Friday: Expectation)

Come one, come all!
The time is here once again,
To bust out a Five Minute Friday post,
With all our online friends!

Linking up with The Gypsy Mama,
We get only five minutes to write,
Our urge to over think and edit,
We must honestly fight.

She has given us a prompt,
So without further ado,
Let’s get to crack-a-lacking,
What are we waiting for, hop to!

Today’s prompt: EXPECTATION

GO!

*******

It’s covered in beautiful paper and decorated with a bow. I shake it. It doesn’t rattle, but hey, that doesn’t mean much. Maybe it’s padded really well. The time has come– my heart pounds as I rip open my gift with great anticipation and expectation. Maybe it’s that new book I wanted. Or a sweet pair of shoes. Or maybe even something shiny…

Socks. It’s socks. Talk about your all time expectation let down. Siggggghhhh.

I force a smile and blink my eyes, trying with all I can to be grateful. I had expected such big things only to get socks.

Isn’t that how it goes sometimes? We dream up all sorts of ideas and plans of what the ideal gift or circumstance may look like, and sometimes God gives us proverbial socks.

It certainly isn’t wrong to have high expectations. But just because those “socks” we received from the Lord aren’t shiny or have a great plot-line, doesn’t mean they don’t serve a purpose.

Sometimes what we see as socks from God can really be the initial pathway to His incredible plan for us. That seemingly let down expectation of a gift is in fact very useful and necessary.

Through those less than perfect circumstances and gifts from God, aka the “sock gifts of life,” we have an opportunity to seek Him out at a deeper level. If it is a trial or period of uncertainty in life we didn’t expect, we can rest in His protection. Β We are kept warm. And our feet are covered and prepared for the journey ahead.

The outcome of that gift, while initially might seem like a let down, can result in an experience that changes our life and surpasses all of our wildest expectations.

So in that case… Lord, thank you for the socks.Β 

STOP!

******

Always such a fun rush,
For my brain and my fingers,
But hey it’s almost the weekend,
No reason to hang around and linger!

Jesus pumps me up,
SGK

“For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of GodΒ to be revealed.” –Romans 8:19

PS: What did you think of today’s quick-fast (and slightly goofy) rhyming post? I always love hearing from folks… feel free to leave a comment below!

Categories: blessing, Christ, excited, Five Minute Friday, gifts, God, gratitude, perspective, plans | Tags: , , , , , | 23 Comments

Post navigation

23 thoughts on “Lord, Thank You for the Socks (Five Minute Friday: Expectation)

  1. Cute. I should share this with my kids. Expectations and gifts and kids are really tough. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks, Laura… I know I was definitely one of those kids (oh who am I kidding– I am still one of those adults!) who have to practice intentional gratitude when unwrapping a less than expected gift. πŸ™‚

  2. Momma Lex

    Thanks for the reminder to be thankful no matter what the gift…I am so blest. Love you!

  3. Yes!

    We need the socks, the basics, the nuts and bolts, the bread and butter … maybe more than all those bells and whistles we think will make us happy.

    • Thank you for sharing this thought, Linda– you really covered it all! And yes, we need foundation more than the fun stuff… because once we have the foundation, then the fun can come!

  4. Absolutely! Thanks, Lord, for the socks.

  5. Loving that we had the same train of thought for this weeks FMF! So nice to meet you! Have a wonderful Friday!!

  6. r.elliott

    great job here…oh yes to give thanks for all…even the socks of life. blessings to you~

  7. Yes. Yes. and Yes. I am visiting from Gypsy Mama’s link up. Socks are an excellent metaphor. Protective and can make all the difference (ask any soldier) as well as comforting and warm. Lion and Lamb. Great post.

    • LOVE that you mentioned how important socks are– especially to soldiers. My hubby is a drill sergeant and we have had many long discussions how important good, sturdy, dry socks can be when you are out in the field or deployed. Thanks for bring this to my mind. Thank you Jesus for the socks in our life!

  8. Brooke

    Yes, we definitely need those socks….they keep us warm….protect us from the rocks and dirt and germies that could get on our feet. But, those “socks”…those useful nuggets we are given…do the protecting and the warming and the comforting we need when times get tough. Thanks for the great visual reminder of someone at Christmas…waiting for something cool…then getting socks. lol

    I need to be very thankful for the socks in my life…because they sustain me more than the cool things/fancy gadgets ever could.

    Have a great weekend!

  9. A perfect metaphor for the things in life that we do not jump for joy over. All we need to remember is that God sends us these experiences for a reason – and we should use them as we would use a pair of socks to warm our feet.

    • Right on, Colline. Those gifts can be so useful and very important if we just give them a chance. Thanks so much for stopping by. Blessings!

  10. Love the socks analogy! So true of God’s answers! πŸ™‚

  11. I love the poem. It was fun. πŸ™‚ It’s true socks suck sometimes. But sometimes when we realize they are missing or have holes we realize what a necessity they are. Sometimes what God gives us is like that, but really they are necessity for moving us forward in relationship with Him. Thank you for linking up with Caffeinated Randomness this week.

    • Thanks so much! And you are so correct in the fact that those “socks” of life might be a necessity to fulfill His purpose. Thanks a million for leaving a comment and I love your link-up πŸ™‚ Blessings to you!

  12. Thanks for stopping by my blog πŸ™‚ This 5 minute post gets my heart pumping just reading it- it kind of reminds me of when you go to the nurse to have your blog taken and you have to talk to her to distract yourself- I en up just waffling for a few minutes until it’s over but can’t concentrate cos I’m too freaked out about the time limit! ha ha…I’m totally amazed at your ability to actually write something coherent πŸ˜›

    • Ha, ha, thanks Samara!! It gets my blood pumping too- I am writing and praying at the same time, hope that God produces something worth posting πŸ˜‰ Thanks for returning the comment favor. Bless you girl!

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

