20/20 Vision

Do you wear glasses or contact lenses? I don’t. And I am very thankful for that. I have been blessed (so far anyways) to have pretty legit vision when it comes to reading and seeing near, far and everything in between. My beloved husband, however, is a whole ‘nother story.

Without his glasses/contact lenses, my sweet husband is practically blind. Ok, not really in the legal sense, but his eyes are jacked up enough that without corrective lenses of some kind, functioning is practically impossible.

His eyes are so out of whack, in fact, that they can’t be fixed with Lasik eye correction. However, this week his life is about to change. He is getting Implant Contact Lens surgery (ICL.) Yep, you read correctly– they actually implant a real contact lens permanently into his eye. (Isn’t the medical world fascinating?)

He says they will be his “robot eyes.” See through things, never need sunglasses, look two different directions at the same time. Right, honey.  (I think his expectations might be a bit high.)

Brandon has worn glasses for nearly two decades. It is a hassle for him as a soldier, because he can’t wear contacts in the field for very long without risking an eye infection, he always has to worry about breaking his glasses etc. But God willing, at the end of this week, he will no longer need corrective vision anything.

However… Although we will both have close to 20/20 vision in a matter of days, we are the first to admit we need our vision corrected in different ways.

We need to see others like Jesus. I would take a wild guess to say that you might probably kinda sorta find yourself in the same boat.

If only there was a simple surgery to help us see through Jesus’ eyes and we would never have to worry about it again. However, getting our vision corrected by Jesus is a life long process.

Jesus didn’t judge based on appearances, actions or past sin. Instead, He judged the heart. I sure could use some help to see others like He did.

Think about the last time you judged someone: Perhaps that single mom. Or the overweight man. Or a disruptive kid that runs around your neighborhood wreaking havoc.

I have been praying daily for God to help me see like He sees. We aren’t called to judge. We are called to love.

Today, I challenge you to take a good look at your heart– do you have eyes like Jesus? Or do you  need you vision corrected? How can you judge less and love more by seeing through Christ’s eyes? I would love to hear what you have to say on this topic… as I think we all struggle with it. Leave a comment below.

Let’s ask God to give us Jesus glasses. Or maybe to give us contact lenses made of faith and love as we see others as He sees them. Then and only then will our vision be corrected and truly be 20/20.

Jesus help me see more clearly,
SGK

“Let me give you a new command: Love one another. In the same way I loved you, you love one another. This is how everyone will recognize that you are my disciples—when they see the love you have for each other.” -John 13:34-35 (MSG) 

Categories: blessing, Christ, God | Tags: , , , , | 24 Comments

Post navigation

24 thoughts on “20/20 Vision

  1. What a wonderful post! I agree, I think we all need corrective surgery from Jesus so that we see others, and situations as He sees them. Thank you for linking this very thought-provoking post to Scripture Sunday this week and giving many more others the opportunity to “see” this post too!

    Wendy

    • Wendy, you are too kind! So glad I stumbled upon your link up today… I will be back for sure! Blessings to you girl.

  2. I was absolutely intrigued and if honest, a little jealous of your hub’s upcoming surgery. Didn’t start wearing glasses until I was 40 and I’m not a fan, but can’t do contacts. See how focused I got on that…Just that easy to focus on the periphery-especially when it comes to spiritual things. Thanks for the nudge in the right direction. Blessings.

    • Love the way you put that Tina… We so easily focus on the periphery instead of what we should be focusing on, especially when it comes to looking at the outside of folks instead of the heart. Thanks for being such a loyal follower and commenter. It makes my heart sing!

  3. I love that! I need some vision correction, too, in both senses.

    • It’s encouraging that I’m not the only one 😉 Praying God works wonders on all of our “heart sight,” Tat. Be blessed!

  4. Brittany Donley

    This post was what I needed to hear. I try to not judge but it is something I struggle with. Thanks for sharing and I’m going to pray that I can see more through Jesus’s eyes. Praying for your husband surgery as well.

    • Thanks so much, girlie! We all struggle with it, so know you aren’t alone. Thanks a million for the comment and the prayers.

  5. I just prayed this morning that I would be able to see the sins and faults that God sees in me. This is something that I often want to avoid. But I persist, knowing that gaining His vision is so important and so transformational. Thank you, Sharita, for sharing this challenge, this thought-provoking and sight-provoking post!

    • Kudos to you, Beth…. That’s a hard prayer to pray! Scary but rewarding. Excited for transformation in all of us!

  6. I love this line “We aren’t called to judge. We are called to love.” It is going on my fridge.

    • Wow. So excited these words made the cut to be on the fridge. Thanks, Jesus! (And thanks for the encouragement and affirmation, Nessa. I really appreciate it!)

  7. fullherlife

    Hey Sharita!
    I just posted a comment but I think I lost it… here goes 1 more time! 😉 I loved what you wrote here! I believe as we learn to walk in step with God’s Spirit, we will see ourselves through loving lenses. Then, we’ll be looking outward at the world around us and see them the way HE does… filled with a creator’s love! WOW! What a great topic… ~ Blessings out sister, Amy

    • Thanks for being diligent, gal. (God bless technology, right?) Thanks for your input– it really encourages my heart 🙂

  8. So, my husband’s eyes are terrible. Sometimes it’s fun to lie about what time it is. I realize this is not the point to the post, but really, it is a little fun.

    • Oh. Amy. I. Love. You. (Is that too forward??) I literally laughed out loud at this comment.

      And that is a great idea– if only I would have thought of it sooner!! I have T minus 13 hours before my hubby’s sight is fixed, so let the practical jokes begin!

  9. I’ve only just begun wearing some of those cheap reading glasses you buy at the drug store. And, yes! I need my vision corrected every day. Lovely post.

  10. Pingback: Bravocado, Jesus! (Factor of 7) « 7 Days Time

  11. called2bedifferenthomeschooling

    So very true! Our vision must be changed! It is a daily struggle for all of us! Thank you for sharing!

  12. Amazing post and so true…we have useful tools to have clearer vision to see the world, be it contacts, glasses, or eye surgery, but at the end of each day…when we look at the world as a whole…what are we using to see the world…how do we even see the world and how is it filter!

    Love the correlation of seeing the world with the eyes of Christ

    Came across your blog via, “Lost in the Prairies”… Caffeinated Randomness and so glad to have been led to your blog!

    • Thank you for popping over from Caffeinated Randomness!I pray that God can be my permanent heart glasses 🙂 Blessings, sister!

  13. lostinprairies

    Sharita, this was a good reminder of our own vision and the prejudices we carry around instead of letting them go. Thank you for this and thank you for linking up to the randomness this week.

    • You are very welcome and thanks for taking time to hop over to my site. Love your link up. Blessings!

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

