Stay In Step

“TTWWWWWEEEEEETTTTT!!”

Click, click, click, click… “One, two, three, four…”

Oh, the glory days of marching band. Now, before you start the cracks about being a band nerd, know that my high school was kinda tiny. Tiny like I graduated with 18 people in my class. And had about 80 people in our entire high school.

Which meant you were either in the band… Or you weren’t. (And seriously– who really wanted to go to an extra study hall? Pshaw.)

So yes, I was in the band. Played the flute actually. From 5th grade to senior graduation. I wasn’t a stellar player. I mean, I showed up for band every day for 7 years, so I could play– just not awesomely. Oh, and I am really uncoordinated. Which is why MARCHING and playing the flute at the same time really caused some issues. (I tried to be a front line pom-pom girl or in the flag corp for most of my marching band career.)

Our tiny little marching band would hit up various local parades ever couple weeks from about September to the final Christmas parade in December.

We were a small group. Our band director Mrs. Buckle was incredible. And brave. She dealt with teenagers. With instruments. Which is probably why she yelled a lot. She had to contend with the trumpets and the bass drum. And those instruments tend to get a little noisy.

Plus, it turns out I wasn’t the only uncoordinated one in the group. Teenage boys and girls playing instruments, following music and trying to stay in step? Yeah, sometimes it wasn’t pretty. (Which is why we never had white shoes with our band uniform. Always black. Harder to notice when someone is blatantly out of step.)

Not a picture of our marching band. Our uniforms weren’t QUITE that nice.

I as I think about those fun memories, and Mrs. Buckle’s voice still resonates in my head:

“LEFT, LEFT, LEFT, RIGHT, LEFT!!!”

“HEY TRUMPETS, GET IN LINE!”

“STAY. IN. STEP!”

Fun times. But seriously. As I thought about my experience with marching band and the importance of staying in step, I couldn’t help but think about how important it is for us to stay in step today… With God.

We have to trust Him, knowing that He is walking beside of us. If we stop to look at our feet, we will lose our rhythm and mess up the whole formation He has lined up for us. We have to let Him set the pace, not falling behind Him or  trying to gallop out in front. <<That would be me.)

Are you letting God direct your life like the a drum major or band director? Or are you trying to do your own thing? What does it feel like when you are out of step? In step? What steps can you take to make sure you stay in step with Him marching beside you? I would love to hear your thoughts. Leave your comment below!

We are all marching in this life. It doesn’t matter if you are lugging a tuba, a piccolo, snare drum or are a member of the flag corp. We all have to march. So the question is: Who is directing your band? Follow Him closely and you will always stay in step.

Marching to the beat of a heavenly drum,
SGK

“The very steps we take come from God; otherwise how would we know where we’re going?” ~Proverbs 20:24 MSG

Categories: challenge, God, obedience, path | Tags: , , , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Stay In Step

  1. Yes, the secret of staying in step really is following the Director closely! Big blessings to you, sis!

    • Thanks, Mari-Anna! Glad our Director gives us grace when we fall out of line. Blessings back atcha!

  2. One of my favorite verses – He always guides are steps, no matter our skill level.

    stopping from daily cup of inspiration

    Marissa @ forfunreadinglist.blogspot.com

  3. I was a French horn player, so when marching-band season came around, I played trumpet. I was in a small school too (37 in my graduating class, with four Jennifers!) … so I went out for almost everything, even though I was pretty mediocre at a lot of it. 🙂

    • Ha ha, 4 Jennifers? That’s impressive. We only had one Jennifer. But 3 Chads in our class of 18. (Insane!) And yes, thanks for the opportunity to be overcommitted in school activities. I was barely home (which was a plus cuz it got me out of farm chores. Sometimes.)

  4. Many times people tell me ‘You certainly march to your own beat!’ or I will say ‘Hard to believe I spent 9 yrs in the military when I have such an issue following directions!!’
    *HoWeVeR* when it comes to God’s directions, instructions and letting HIM drive the bus, I do try my best to sit back watch and listen to all that is HE is saying. I don’t always do so good ~ I can be a back seat driver (just ask my husband!!)
    When I am in step or sitting back concentrating on what He is showing me ~ it feels so peaceful and joyful! My anxiety leaves and I find I am appreciative of so many things (even when it is fighting kids BECAUSE that means they are healthy and NORMAL!!)
    Thanks for the blog today Sharita!! I played the French Horn … a different horn needed to be used for Marching Band and I didn’t get the hang of that SSSooo I too was flags or sign carrier!! We however only Marched at the first couple of football games and then during summer parades. Thanks for taking me down a great memory lane (o:

    • Ha ha, thanks once again for your awesome comment, Susan. You make me grin! (And apparently we have a lot of French Horn players in our midst. I should have picked a cooler instrument 😉 ) Although flags or banner was pretty legit duty too!

      Blessings to you girl! Love ya!

  5. What a great analogy! I often do my own thing, ignoring the conductors baton and then wonder why my life isn’t in harmony. Loved reading this!

    • Thanks Christina… God really puts the most random thoughts in my head during my quiet time, and I am always surprised how He makes them make sense when I start to write. Blows my mind! Blessings!

  6. I like this.

  7. Nicely stated! This illustration made me envision those great YouTube videos of large marching bands that get completely destroyed by the ‘wrong turn’ of just one band member.

    • Thanks, favorite dude reader. We weren’t a large band by an stretch of the imagination, but we certainly wrecked more than one formation because we weren’t staying in step or paying attention to our director. (It was never the flutes though. Always the clarinets. Or the trumpets. Or drums. Anybody but the flutes. Ha.)

  8. Yes, we must follow the leader… even when we don’t understand exactly why and where we are supposed to go. In all these years, following Him has led me to amazing places, meeting amazing people. [AND many (many) years ago I graduated in a class of 12, a school of 60 in the 4 classes. And we had to make some of the same decisions you did. Couldn’t do everything, but nearly everything was needed. So, did it.]

    • That’s awesome, Joanne! Sounds like we speak the same small-school-do-it-all language.

      And yes, you make a great point– sometimes we didn’t have a clue where the parade route was taking us– or we would be near the front of the line up and someone in front of us would mess it up… Definitely had to follow our director to get back on track.

  9. It’s funny. I’ve spent most of my life trying to match my step with that of those marching around me and no matter how hard I tried, I alway felt out of step…out of place. Now that I’m walking to the beat of my Saviour…in a rhythm of love, grace and surrender, no matter how out of place the world may try to make me feel, I know I am walking in step, right on cue, right where my I belong!

    Enjoyed this! 🙂

    • Amazing thoughts, Stacy! Yeah, when we march to the beat of this world, we might end up in a big outta-step mess– but I rejoice that you are marching with our Savior. Thanks so much for hosting the Heartprints of God link up party– I enjoy it 🙂 Blessings to you!

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

