Think “Fast” (7 Experiment, Week 3)

7…6…5…4…3…2…1…

The countdown is on, folks! We are ¾ of the way through our 7 Foods for 30 days fasting. We are really stoked that God is working so powerfully in our lives.

And very stoked that caffeine and ketchup are soon to be back on our menu.

Set the microwave timer, folks. We are almost done!

If you are just joining us on this journey, I might recommend you take a TV time out. (or a blog time out?) to check out our previous posts about this over the last month to catch up.

Think Fast
Think Fast (Week 1 Update)
Think Fast (Week 2 Update)

Here’s a few new thoughts as to how this process is unraveling:

~We are intentionally setting aside specific blocks of time to just shut everything off and sit reading the word. Obviously this is easier for me to do than Brandon, since I have much more control over my schedule. However, we block out at least an hour on Sunday afternoon/evening to just sit, plus other periodic times in the week. It’s great.

~I am still blown away with how easy and quick grocery shopping is. Seriously. Sure, I have to go a couple of times a week since we tend to run out of a these random foods at different times (plus avocados and fresh spinach don’t last forever) but shopping now takes 15 minutes MAX compared to at least an hour or more per week.

~It’s really hard to make a deluxe apple chicken spinach salad of epicness when you are nearly out of fresh spinach. (See point above.)

~Babysitting is difficult. (No, not babysitting my husband—I mean other people’s kids.) I babysat twice last week to help some folks out, which is fine, but seeing all the tasty foods they are chowing down on make for a challenging experience. (Specifically: Popcorn at the movies, grapes and mac’n’cheese.)

~I’ve finished my 3rd batch of sweet potato soup. It’s still a great go-to food when I have no other “brilliant” ideas.

~Kudos to my sweet husband for sticking with this—He was in the field pretty much all last week, which means he can’t just run home to grab some food (and I can’t bring him anything.) He has been able to survive on MREs (Meals ready to eat) of just a beef patty/bread, as well as apples, peanut butter and bread he brought from home.

~I am currently on a French toast with applesauce as topping kick. I’ve eaten it for several breakfasts in a row and even ate it for supper last week.

~Have I mentioned that God rocks? I really enjoy the simplifying part of this project. I am getting much more done and spending more time with Him.

~We still miss caffeine, cheese and ketchup. But hanging strong. Almost there, America!

Oh, and in case you missed the memo from the last couple of weeks—we are doing a giveaway. Leave a comment below your guess as to how many eggs we will consume in this 30 day time frame to win a gift card to your favorite breakfast restaurant.

If you have already guessed before, you can enter again with a new guess.  You only have 7 days left to enter—I will be announcing the winner on next Tuesday’s wrap up blog post.

One more thing: Many of you have commented/texted/emailed/facebooked us to say that you are praying for us throughout this journey. We appreciate it. We feel them working (and it has helped us to stay strong and not give in to the temptations of mac’n’cheese, sushi or beer (Brandon)/Frozen yogurt (Me.)

The end is in sight… Come back next week to see how this month turns out. I will announce the gift card winner as well as share any profound developments God has placed on our heart.

Until then… Can someone pass the spinach?

Simplifying our Snacks,
SGK

“The Spirit of God whets our appetite by giving us a taste of what’s ahead. He puts a little of heaven in our hearts so that we’ll never settle for less.” ~2 Corinthians 5:5 (MSG)

Categories: food, God | Tags: , , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Think “Fast” (7 Experiment, Week 3)

  1. tereasamansfield

    You had me at fifteen minute shopping trips!

    • It’s stinkin awesome. That’s one thing I am definitely going to miss… But honestly, I might instigate some new life simplification tools for our menu after this! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Tereasa! You blessed me with your comment!

  2. eil1een

    I agree, 15 minute shopping sounds like heaven! Love this, “I am getting much more done and spending more time with Him.” Amazing how it works when our priorities are lined up right!

    • It is amazing… I have to go shopping a little more frequently, but it is still great for our time budget (and our financial budget.) Much against popular belief, it’s been a great month!

  3. Glad all is well…I’m interested how are you feeling physically?

    • I’m feeling incredible. Seriously. (I’m not just saying that!) I’m saving some of the “big” physical results/surprises for next week’s wrap up post, but I am sleeping better and have more energy to work work out (and work out HARD) compared to the random sugar crashes I had before.

      I’m gonna miss sugar– but I think God is calling me to let it go in a very big way– permanently. Thanks for your comment!

  4. Momma Lex

    It’s been quite a journey. Thanks for inviting me along. I truly didn’t think it would be so challenging..only by the grace of God was I able to stick with it. One week left-we can do it!! Speaking of eggs…they aren’t one of my 7 foods and I went to make deviled eggs for a picnic, (by the way, its really difficult to make a yummy food and then not be able to eat it) and I actually broke one open to smell it to make sure they weren’t rotten since they had been in my fridge for 3 weeks and who knows how long in the grocery store before that, but they were ok. I was surprised-didn’t realize eggs lasted that long. Let the countdown begin….

    • It’s amazing what kind of crazy stuff a text message conversation can get you wrapped up into, huh Ma? It has been great to have someone else come alone on this journey– would have been much harder without another girl to walk with me in this Jesus quest.

      And I’m glad you discovered the longevity of eggs 🙂 Love you!

  5. Bless you on your journey.

  6. Melanie Dorsey

    I’ll have to backtrack and see what this is all about. I do love the idea of turning everything off and focusing on Bible reading for an hour.

    • Yeah, definitely check it out, Melanie… It’s been great. While the turning off stuff to sit with Jesus wasn’t the main goal for this month, it’s been an excellent perk. (I think the “turning off” stuff comes with another month– perhaps media/technology? I’m looking forward to THAT one!)

  7. Thank you for sharing your journey at “Tell Me a Story.” When your 30 days is up, you might want to consider leaving caffine altogether. That would include Dr Pepper and your health would say thank you. 🙂

    • Thanks Hazel. Honestly, the caffeine thing isn’t really a big deal for me. I enjoy my Diet Dr. Pepper as a treat… but often drink a diet cream soda or diet ginger ale. And at max, I usually only have one cup of coffee per day. (If that.) However, caffeine is a MUCH bigger deal to my sweet husband, who tends to work 20 hour days on a regular basis 🙂

  8. Pingback: Operation “Fortitude” Fitness (Month #6) « 7 Days Time

  9. Pingback: Think “Fast” Finale! « 7 Days Time

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

