Finders Keepers

Hey all! It’s Friday, so here’s the dealio…

I link up with Lisa-Jo Baker for Five Minute Friday. Five Minute Friday

We write. For five minutes.

No over thinking or excessive editing. We just go with it.

Let’s get this party started.

Todays Prompt: CHANGE

Annnddd… GO!!!!

******

I can hear the hum and occasional clank of our washer and dryer in nearly room of our house. It’s a new model, but when you are regularly washing army gear, laundry is not a quiet experience.

However, it’s important.

There have been a few “close calls” in our household when my beloved comes home late, but still needs his clothes washed for the next day. (And by next day, I really mean when he goes back to work in four hours.)

Praise the Lord my beloved is a man who knows how and plus/minus does his own laundry. But sometimes, we forget a very important step.

To change it over when that fateful washer timer buzzes.

Personally, few things are more disheartening than getting ready for work and realizing that the washer is still full of wet laundry– that we need to wear immediately.

Fortunately, this is an easy fix. Just change it over.

The concept of changing things around doesn’t just apply to laundry. Change is important in our life. When we change, we are growing– even though sometimes growing pains are, well, painful.

I love the feeling of changing my hairstyle… of course sometimes it doesn’t go as planned. (i.e. see my senior pictures from HS) The challenge of changing to a new state/home/neighborhood every 2 to 5 years as an army family provides initial nerves but a thrill of adventure…

And strengthening of our faith.

We can embrace the change in our world because we have the chance to follow a NEVER-changing God. He’s always constant. Always faithful. Always there to guide us as we change, adapt and grow.

Change in life can be a very good thing, just like when we remember to switch over the laundry from the washer to the dryer. We get fresh dry clothes.

And if we are really lucky? We get a little bit of BONUS loose change left in the bottom… and we all know the rule with those kind of surprises… finders keepers.

STOP!

***

What did you think my friends? What kind of change challenges you most in life? When have you embraced change and found that “bonus” surprise after it was all said and done? How does God keep you growing? I would love to hear all about it. Leave a comment below!

Til we meet again on Monday… May you be richly blessed!

Change is a good thing,
SGK

“Change your life. God’s kingdom is here.” ~Matthew 4:17 (MSG) 

Categories: Five Minute Friday, God | Tags: , , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Finders Keepers

  1. I think it depends on the season of my life on which change challenges more. Sometimes it’s the immediate “you need to change _____ right now” other times it’s the process of change because I just KNOW that it’s going to be, as you said, painful.

    –Stopping in from Lisa-Jo’s!

    • Very true, Amy! Some life seasons, I find change to be no big deal– other times, it feels like my world is crumbling. So glad that God is with us in ALL seasons! Thanks for stopping by! Blessings.

  2. To know you thought this up in only five minutes reminds me how much younger you are than me! I’d still be on the first sentence…no, wait…just the idea! LOL!

    Great writing and thanks for reminding this soul that change excites and awakens our souls for adventure!

    Have a great weekend,
    Dawn

    • Oh, pshaw, Dawn– I am sure your fantastic writers brain would create a Five Minute Masterpiece!

      Thanks for the wonderful comment– I miss you!

  3. Karla Barnes

    I didn’t want to move to Ft. Benning and was not very happy when we did. It turned out to be one of my favorite bases and I made some awesome friends! God knew what was good for us then and I can’t wait to see what good things come out of this move.

    • Hmmm, sounds kind of a familiar 😉 And you are so right– even though we can’t see it in the moment, God DOES know what we need… Just think, without the army and Fort Benning, we wouldn’t know each other! Talk about a perspective shift…

      Wonder if God will reunite us in Italy?

  4. Ugh, that washer thing. The thing is, you have to be paying attention and be intentional about following through with the job. You can’t leave it half done – or it really stinks. Thanks for this.

    • So true, Amy! My husband, although he does know how to do laundry, doesn’t quite understand that if you leave the wet laundry in the washer for a day or two, you have to wash it again… cuz it smells like a mildewy basement. Be blessed sister!

  5. Ah…I have made a small fortune in found change in the washing machine! 😉 Great post Sharita!

    • That is my primary motivation for washing clothes– the loose change. That and the fact that society insists I wear clean pants when venturing into public 😉 Thanks for popping by, Mindy! You always make me grin!

  6. Great post.

  7. I always enjoy your spunk and creativity girl! Keeping sharing… I hope you’re feeling great now! 🙂 ~ Blessings tonight, Amy

    • Thank you Amy! I’m slowly but surely getting back on my feet– excited to feel “normal” again before 3rd trimester shows up and I phase back into “potentially uncomfortable.” Love ya!

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

