Who I Am

Happy September, all!

Oh, and Happy Labor Day.

So, here’s the deal. I’m just gonna be straight up with you today. (Actually, I hope I am ALWAYS straight up with you… but today might be straighter than normal. Ha.)

At the beginning of a new month, typically I update you all on my SMART goals for 2012. I’ve been working on this list since January, and asked you to be my accountability partner.

Well partner, August was kind of a wash. As in, I was only able to be “normal” for literally three days of the entire month. Sure, it’s a small price to pay for the opportunity to participate in the coolest Jesus arts and crafts projects ever (aka, growing a teeny baby as we add to our family) but the fact that I got pneumonia PLUS another gross cold virus bug somethingorother on top of it  knocked me down. Hard.

It’s been a month and I am just now getting back on my feet.

So August I was unable to work out (most days it was a huge victory for me to maybe change from PJs to other comfy clothes and simply get out of bed.)  Also, my brain was below normal functioning levels since I was so sick/tired/etc.

I REALLY struggled with this for a few weeks. As in, worried about it, was very anxious and stressed (and annoyed) that I wasn’t able to do anything I normally would do…

And then God reminded me that my value, worth and identity is NOT in WHAT I do, but WHO I am in Christ.  (By the way– the same goes for you. Just saying.)

So if it’s ok with you, we are going to disregard August and pick up from where we left off  for the month of September… I’m not going to worry about it.

Oh, and speaking of not worrying… Next week we start an online bible study right here at 7 Days Time. It is called “Calm My Anxious Heart: A Woman’s Journey to Contentment.” We are super-duper excited for this experience and it’s not too late for you to join in this journey. Just leave a comment below if you would like to participate and I will get you hooked up.

On that note… I do believe it is time for me to use this Labor Day– to relax. Not worry. Be content. And celebrate that our identity is NOT in what we do but who we are in Christ.

Can I get an amen?

Laboring in Christ,
SGK

“Day and night you’re in our prayers as we call to mind your work of faith, your labor of love, and your patience of hope in following our Master, Jesus Christ, before God our Father.” 1 Thessalonians 1:3 (MSG) 

Categories: goals, God | Tags: , , , , , | 28 Comments

Post navigation

28 thoughts on “Who I Am

  1. WEll, Sharita, if you aren’t the most inspiring young lady I’ve run across in a while. Just made my heart smile reading this entry. I came across you from Miscellany Monday and so enjoyed browsing around.

    Sure hope that you will continue to feel better and so glad that you have been taking care of yourself.

    May the Lord continue to bless you as you “go forth” in His name.

    Do stop by sometime, it’s always fun to meet and make a new blogging friend. Blessings to you!

    • Awww shucks, thanks Lea!! Appreciate your encouragement! My energy and health is coming back slowly each day, so I am very excited to see what the Lord has in store for us in the coming months.

      In the meantime, I’m thankful for His grace that let’s me have less than awesome months and keep on trucking 🙂

  2. Kim Blauwet

    Yes, please count me in for the online study! I am looking VERY forward to it!! (LOVE LOVE your blog!! =-)

  3. Relax, Sharita! Don’t worry about August. September is a new start for something beautiful and productive. We all need a “gimme” every now and then!

    • Ha, thanks Beth– I’m totally over it and thankful that God granted me a “gimme.” September is gonna be great 🙂 Thanks for the comment and encouragement! Blessings to you!

  4. Beth Menduni

    I have been struggling to give my worries to God daily sometimes by moments. My Dad is in the hospital and I was able to spend a couple weeks in WV to visit and get his house ready for him to come home. It disn’t happen he got worse. So now I am back in TX and feel my hands are tied. Trying to rest up for when it if he gets to come home. He is 88 and has been in the hospital for almost 8 weeks. All I can do is pray and having a hard time with that. Any advice?

    • Oh Beth– I am sorry to hear about your Dad!! That’s so hard. I’m lifting you up in prayer as we speak!

      As far as advice– I know it’s hard (seemingly impossible sometimes) but I’ve been in some tough spots before too… what helps me is to literally turn it over to the Lord. It’s hard, but necessary– and something I have to do day-by-day, sometimes moment-by-moment. Tomorrow belongs to God. And not just a little piece of it– but all of it. I’ve always heard that worry is like a rocking chair– it gives us something to do, but gets us no where.

      This tough life stuff is completely up to Jesus… So I guess the question is: Do you trust God enough to give Him the control of everything? You can’t change a thing my friend… And the absolute best thing to do for you AND your Dad– is to pray, pray, pray, giving it to God with open hands.

      You never know– if you open your hands, God might have something to give you in return. 🙂

      Keep me posted!!! I will be praying!

  5. Amen comin’ at ya’ from Maine girl!!! We’re embracing the new month, the new season, NEW DAY! ~ Love, Amy

  6. J. J. Brotton

    Amen, my friend! Growing that teeny baby takes a lot of work! Missing you!

    • No joke! This Jesus arts and crafts project is rather time consuming 😉 And I miss you too, JJ– tell all the peeps back home we say hello…

  7. Amen Amen! It is not about who we are but Whose we are! That really takes the pressure off.
    Sorry you had a bad month but glad God is showing you things in spite of it.
    Blessings to you.

    • Right on, Vicky. I think “bad” might be too strong– how about “physically and spiritually stretching” month?

      Yeah. That sounds better 😉 Blessings to you!

  8. Amen to the reminder of where your identity and worth are from!
    PS I read Calm My Anxious Heart a few years ago..it is wonderful.
    Visiting from Soli Deo Gloria. I’ll be back 🙂

    • Thanks for the encouragement, Melanie! I am so incredibly excited for this study– It’s going to be a life changer, for sure!!

  9. brandibuzzard

    Do the link up thing with me for the online Bible study – I’m in. What else do I need to do? Can’t wait to see you in a few short weeks! Love love, TB

    • YAY!! Stoked that we get to do this together!!! I sent you an email with all the info my friend. Love you lots!

  10. Amen to that. It blesses me reading about youth that really serve God. Blessings to you dear:)

  11. Those pesky virus bugs can certainly take a lot out of a person physically. We can still stay strong in the Lord, even while taking it easy so as not to harm our body while it is in sick mode. You are an overcomer and I love your attitude. Thank you for sharing at Tell me a Story

  12. Leann

    Can I do the link up for the online study? Thanks!:)

  13. Nice post.

  14. Sharita,
    I love your wit, and forget about August. That arts and crafts project you’ve got going on is a fun, but tricky one! Tell me more about the Calm My Anxious Heart Study.

    • Thanks so much, sista. And I am totally over August… August-schmagust. 🙂 And yes, this is a very intense arts and crafts project– I feel like it needs an instruction manual with a disclaimer of “lots of assembly required” and “could be messy.” 🙂

      Sending you an email to tell you more about CMAH!

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

