Friday Focus: Peterson Farm Bros

Today, I am INCREDIBLY blessed and honored to bring you a Friday Focus that is not only fun– but filled with faith.

In 2012, the world has come to know the awesomeness of  Greg, Nathan and Kendal Peterson, more commonly know as the Peterson Farm Bros. These fellows have become a YouTube sensation, creating some pretty sweet parody videos to promote agriculture… And Jesus.

PetersonFarmBros

Now, I’m an ag-girl at heart. (And always will be, no matter where we live!) But the absolute coolest aspect of these guys is their mission is ultimately based on faith. So today, we take a closer look at what makes these guys share how Jesus is the Bread of Life… and how agriculture feeds the world.

A few things before we get started with our interview. (Yes, they are so generous that Greg Peterson hooked me up with some answers to my online interview questions. Talk about rubbing digital elbows with a celeb!) Their first video, “I’m Farming and I Grow It” (Parody of “I’m Sexy and I know it”)  was published in June 2012… As of this writing, it is nearing 8 MILLION views. Their newest video launched just last week, reached 1 million views in less than 18 hours and in just over a week has overtaken their first video and already reached 9 (yes NINE!) million views.

Sure gives a whole new meaning to “HOLY COW.” (Get it? Holy as in Jesus, and Cow and in agriculture?? Just kidding.)

So first up on today’s post is their debut video…

And now… In Greg’s own words…

Tell me a little bit about your mission:
My mission is to live my life worthy of the calling I have received (Eph. 4) and glorify God in whatever I do. Whether that is promoting agriculture, or singing music, or working on the farm, or going to class, I do it all in His name! My mission is similar for both promoting agriculture and sharing the Gospel. I do my best to inform people about something they take for granted or do not fully understand. I try to bring truth where there is misconceptions and allow God to use me for His purposes.

Where do you get your inspiration?
From God’s Word. From what I am passionate about: Faith, Music, Agriculture.

How does your faith play a role in your call to share the message of agriculture?
As mentioned above, I really feel called to remind people to be thankful for who feeds them, just as we should be thankful to God who gives us life and breathe each day. It is a similar situation.

As an agricultural family, would you say faith is important? Why or why not?
Yes, because God is a huge part of what farming is about. Without God providing our resources, we would have nothing. I also think that working on the farm allows you to be really in tune with God’s creation and worship Him through that.

In what ways have you seen God bless your experiences as you share you message?
We were able to share the Gospel a bit on national television (Fox News’ Fox and Friends). Farm channel has led thousands to my music channel full of gospel-centered music. Also, I have felt very encouraged by the amount of comments stating that my music has helped people.

What advice would you give some one who is “on the fence” about embarking on a “God-adventure?”
Just go for it! God can do big things with normal people. (Like me!) I have been astounded at what God has led me through the past couple of months. I don’t deserve it, but He uses me anyway!

In your latest video, you mention the verse from Colossians 3:23 about working for the Lord and not for men… What does that look like in your everyday life?
Well, farming can get pretty tough. Sometimes you need a little motivation from the Bible to keep working hard. But really, this is true every day we are working. Glorifying God means doing things to the best of your ability!

****
Are you inspired?? I sure am… What did you think? Feel free to leave a comment below with your feedback .

Oh. And don’t be shy. Share this with all your peeps… These boys are redefining the mission “field…” Because with their unique quest for Christ– it’s ALWAYS “Harvest” time.

Reapin’ what We Sow,
SGK

“The Harvester isn’t waiting. He’s taking his pay, gathering in this grain that’s ripe for eternal life. Now the Sower is arm in arm with the Harvester, triumphant. That’s the truth of the saying, ‘This one sows, that one harvests.'” ~John 4:36 (MSG)

Be sure to check out their latest video (below.) You can connect with the Peterson Farm Bros via Facebook, their entire YouTube Channel or their website.

Categories: agriculture | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 30 Comments

Post navigation

30 thoughts on “Friday Focus: Peterson Farm Bros

  1. brandibuzzard

    Look at you Ms. Ag and Faith blogger 🙂 I love these guys!

    • Ag and Jesus– my top two most passionate things! (if I could have worked in “chocolate” into this post, I would have had my big 3 covered. JK.)

  2. Kristy

    How cool! I love that they’re from Abilene and wore K-State attire in their video! Even though they’re less than an hour away, I hadn’t heard of them and so thank you for posting!R

    • So glad I could introduce you, Kristy– they are way cool and are doing such big things for agriculture and Jesus. Excited to see where the Lord takes them!!

    • Vikki Mendenhall

      They aren’t from Abilene. They are from Assaria. Kendal still attends SouthEast of Saline. I love seeing the trojan shirts too! I could pass on the wildcat stuff though lol I’m a Jayhawk fan 😛 My kids (also SES students though much younger) LOVE these videos. And they are much better alternatives to my 3 yr old singing “I’m sexy and I know it”!

      • Thanks for the correction, Vikki. (Apparently A-towns from Kansas get confusing– HA!) Thankful that you are supporting the Peterson Bros mission– and yes, I vote it is a GREAT “alternative” song style for your sweet 3 yr old. Be blessed!

  3. Thank you very much for sharing your faith and missions. I am blessed to read about it and it is my prayer that the Lord may uplift you!!

    I am a young man from Kenya who have undergone training in sustainable agricultur and rural developent. More than this I am kept under the blood of the lamb.

    I would really love to read your email and tell more about myself and again if we can partner together.

    With love

    Raymond.

    • Wow, Raymond! Your comment really blessed me! I will be praying for your call as an agriculturalist as well as a Son of Christ!!

  4. So happy to have found this! I was instantly obsessed with their first video when they made it. After liking their Facebook page I saw that they had referenced Psalm 115 in the About Me part. Finding out that they were men of God was such a joy! I am so encouraged by them and their hard work.. From the sounds of this blog, you are a hard working woman of God too.. Thanks for posting this!

    • Appreciate the encouragement, Kamille! As I was praying about this week’s Friday Focus, these guys came to mind– I knew it was a long shot, but I am so thankful that God moved their hearts to share their faith here at 7 Days Time!!

  5. D

    It is encouraging to see young men stand up for the Lord in such a public way. Proclaiming their faith in Christ, and promoting hard work versus the “gimme” attitude that many young people have today. Praise the Lord for these young men. The very fact that they do this is an encouragement to me to continue proclaiming the Word of God on Facebook, even though I am not certain how many people I am actually helping. It is very important to witness for the Lord, and for whatever reason, (pride?), is very hard to do, but needful, regardless of what people say. The struggle to do all things as unto the Lord, to be..”God pleasers”, not “men pleasers” is a difficult one as well. But I am reminded when something I do goes unnoticed, that if I am doing it for men, many times I want the glory. But if I am doing it as unto the Lord, then He gets all the glory which is as it should be. Thank you for sharing!

    • I totally agree, D– these fellows are very inspirational!

      I pray you stay encouraged to share your faith on Facebook (and all walks of life.) We aren’t in it for the numbers– because God touches the heart of one person through your faith, witness and love– well then, ONE is enough.

      Press on my friend!!! 🙂

  6. Louise brown

    Noone cares about your BS religion…

    • Sorry that you feel that way, Louise… But I care about my faith– and so does Jesus. (And a few million other folks.)

      Thanks for the comment– and I will be praying for you today!! Be blessed!! 🙂

    • Brandy

      Actually I think a lot of people LOVE to hear about Sharita’s faith. She is an inspiration to me, not only as a Christian but as a human being. I feel grateful that I get to read her blog to continue to know this amazing child of God better. And, I feel so grateful that even though you don’t care about her “BS religion” God, found a way to bring you to read it carefully enough that you felt the need to comment on it! Praying for you, Louise! 🙂

  7. Thank you for an excellent blog. I shared this link on my Facebook page (Marc Lindshield) and basically addressed my belief that anyone who Farms, especially “Family Farms” don’t have a career, but a “Lifestyle”. That Lifestyle is almost impossible to live without an abiding Faith in the Lord.

    One important point I believe you missed is the fact that finding young men like the Peterson Brothers who share such a deep faith based approach to life is becoming more and more difficult to find in “Mainstream America”. Even in the Heartlands the youth of today have been torn farther and farther away from the Morals and Values inherent on Family Farms. I commend them, and their parents for not only doing a fantastic job of elevating peoples Consciousness about the importance of Agriculture, but the reality that you can still find young men who have significant Values and Faith in God which serve as an invaluable Compass in Life.

    Lead on Guys… the World could use a few hundred more like you!

    • Thanks so much for the share, comment and support, Marc. I totally agree with you– agriculture is a lifestyle. I grew up in rural Kansas as a farmer/ranchers daughter… no matter where we go or where the army moves us, that will ALWAYS be an important part of my heart!

      You are very right that it is hard to find folks (in agriculture or otherwise) who are bold enough to share their faith as the Peterson Brothers do… However, I have no doubt that God has a purpose and plan of redemption for us all– and His word will reach the hearts of million, one cool youtube video or blog post (or act of kindness etc) at a time!

      Blessings to you!

  8. Sheila

    My 8 year old son thinks you guys are awesome. Not just because you sing about farming or that you have John Deere tractors but because you are obviously Christians and your faith is very important to you. As a parent, thank you for standing up for what you believe and for being such positive role models for our kids. God bless you in all you do.

    • Very well said, Sheila! I totally agree with you– these guys are great role models– rock solid in their faith and creative when it comes to sharing Christ! Thanks so much for stopping by 🙂

  9. Deen Satterlee

    I just thought I would let you know part of the land that the Peterson boys farm is my Uncle Thad Satterlee’s farm he has went to be with the Lord but Loved that man and my aunt mildered she fixed me lamb’s quarters greens every time I went to stay with them and play with my cousin he was 15 mon. younger than me God Bless you and your family this Christmas time .

  10. I just found you and I knew I had something wonderful. We do take our food for granted, not any more.
    I just had a house full of family…….and they brought a lot of food ay ay ay. Thank you that putting God in what you do, without the farmer, what we do? Hey I made a new song for you.

  11. Sammi Adkins

    So glad to see such an interest in this family, who aren’t afraid to show their faith! You can’t truly be a farmer without support from the Creator. We are just His stewards of the land! Keep it up guys!!

  12. This is a perfect example of Jesus using us exactly where we are for His glory. Love that these guys are just doing their thing…being themselves and impacting many. It should make all of us say, what can I do right where I stand?

    Really good story to wake up to, girl.

    • Appreciate that, sweet friend. And yes, it really makes us think what we can do right where we are! Be blessed!

  13. Kaye Haspel

    I am a land lover too. God IS a part of farming every day. Tilling and sowing is the farmers part the rest is up to nature( God.) Farming is a way of life not a job. Farming teaches the value ofwork and trust in an unseen power beyond all understanding. When we are blessed we get to reap what we have sown. Thank -you for making farming come to light in such a positive and humerous way.

  14. Raymond

    I do work on another family’s farm but I do call them family cause their close friends but I just wanted to say, keep it up Farm bros! I’m glad to know I have brothers in Christ out there. That’s what life is all about. Keeping the faith and trusting God everyday. Stay strong and be careful.

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

