Finding Comfort (Five Minute Friday)

Hey folks.

It’s Friday.
Five Minute Friday
Which means we link up with Lisa Jo and write. For five minutes flat.

Today’s prompt: Comfort

And Go!

****

Comfort. Just the word brings warmth to my heart. I personally need comfort in all sorts of situations and can find it in so many different ways.

I’m guessing you can too.

It’s been an extremely rough week in new-mommyland for me. What started out as a 2-month check up for our precious baby girl bracing for 2 month shots and ended it in the words “beginning stages of failure to thrive.”

Needless to say… I about lost it. My world felt like it was crumbling. I felt like a failure– and the Enemy wanted to make sure that “reputation” as a mother stuck.

But, as usual, our loving, sovereign, comforting God had other plans.

Although my week was foggy and filled with stress, I knew God was in it somewhere. I just had to keep looking. Praying. Seeking His comfort, relying on His faithfulness that He had this planned long before Baby Charis arrived on this earth.

Fortunately, Baby Girl/s lack of weight gain looks like a milk production problem on my part. (Thank you Jesus– it’s fixable!) As we move forward to rectify this issue, I continue to find comfort in prayers, quotes from others, Scripture– all stemming from the God of all Comfort.

“God doesn’t ask us to be perfect– He just wants us to be simply faithful.” ~Linda Dillow, Calm My Anxious Heart

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in EVERYTHING, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And then the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” ~Philippians 4:6-7

“My kids don’t need to see a super mama. They need to see a mama who needs a Super God.” ~Ann Voskamp

“The one who calls you is faithful and He will do it.” ~1 Thessalonians 5:24

Yes. I have found comfort. I have found confidence. I have found courage…

It all stems from the Most Highest, Eternally Holy, Always Loving God.

****

Where and how do you find comfort? I would love to hear all about it.

Know you are loved, my friends. Thanks for stopping by!

Thankful to Worship a God of all Comfort,
SGK

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.” 2 Corinthians 1:3-4

Go, Mama, Go!

Go, Mama, Go!

Categories: Five Minute Friday | Tags: , , , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Finding Comfort (Five Minute Friday)

  1. What scary news! I’m so happy to hear it’s “fixable” as I’m sure you are too! This mommy thing is hard, huh? We just want wants best for our little ones. God has His plan for all of us.

    P.S. Your daughter is adorable.

    • Thanks Jodi– she is pretty cute (but hey, I am super biased…) So thankful it’s fixable, whatever that is going to look like long term. Appreciate you stopping by 🙂

  2. Oh, my mama heart squeezed tight for yours reading this post. So glad that things are on the mend and so grateful to our God of all comfort!

  3. And also? That picture is AWESOME! 🙂

  4. Hi Sharita, How could I resist stopping by after seeing your little sweetie over on Lisa-Jo’s link up.

    I was bracing myself after the first part of the post, but had to reassure myself that just like in the movies it has to turn out right, doesn’t it. Especially when the word is COMFORT. I enjoying seeing each person’s take on the word.

    Appreciate your experience of finding comfort in the Word. You’re surrounding yourself with good words and there’s no more unshakeable confidence and comfort than what the Spirit brings through the Living Word. I have held onto Philippians 4:6-7 through really rough times and those that were just a bit unnerving, too. In college, when everything seemed like too much and my mind just went to static, I clung to this: He will keep him in perfect peace him whose mind is stayed on Thee, because he trusts in Thee. Isaiah 26:3

    Thanks for sharing today.

    • Both incredible Scriptures, Mari! Thanks a million for the encouragement– and I am clinging to Him as I stumble through my role as a new mama! Be blessed!

  5. Stopping by from FMF….Interestingly, I have a Karis (alternate spelling of Charis) and we had problems with her weight gain as an infant for very similar reasons. We ended up supplementing nursing with formula and it worked well for us, just as I’m sure whatever solution you and your doctor have will work for your Charis. 🙂

    • Huh, how interesting– so glad it worked out well for you all and that is what we are trying now (desperately playing catch-up) so we are hoping it comes together soon. Thanks for popping over to 7 Days Time!

  6. Stopping by from FMF too….looks like you got yourself a little fighter there! How adorable! You are blesed!
    Hugs,
    Kelly

    • Thanks for popping over, Kelly. And yes, she is a feisty little gal (not sure where she gets THAT from… 😉 We are super blessed!

  7. Friend, you are an excellent mother and have a superb little one. You are not less of a mother or a woman because of this – thank goodness the issue is production! I was never so happy to learn that the problem was with me and not with Carly’s digestion or a disease.

    • Thanks girl– it was a rough stinking week, but yes, I am so relieved to know it’s me and not her. WHEW. We are on the mend and headed in the right direction with Jesus’ help and guidance.

  8. Hi! Just stopped by to read your post from Lisa Jo’s linkup.
    Wanted to let you know, I’ve been there and done that…kids “labeled with failure to thrive” when their weights dropped off at 6 months old.
    As it turns out, at almost 5 and 9 they are still each the smallest in their classes, being in the 1st to 3rd percentiles for weight and height, and 7th and 15th percentiles, respectively.
    I also had to take an herb called fenugreek (sp?) with my son who had serious reflux and wouldn’t nurse long enough even on reflux meds.
    I literally nursed or pumped and fed him through bottles almost round the clock for 10 months.
    It did increase my milk supply until we had him converted gradually to formula (he hated the taste and wouldn’t touch it straight so we started mixing small amounts with my milk).
    It does get better and you certainly have the right attitude!
    She is absolutely adorable, by the way!

    • Hi there Leslie! Thanks for swinging by… I am so encouraged by your words (several other folks have told me similar stories… that’s the kind of things docs don’t tell you I guess!)

      It seems that the herbal supplements they have me on are working pretty well… We are still supplementing with formula (fortunately Charis doesn’t hate it!) and she is gaining well. Thank you Jesus 🙂

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

