Huh. Imagine that! (Five Minute Friday)

Hi friends! It’s Five Minute Friday time!

Each Friday, I link up with Lisa-Jo Baker. She gives us a prompt. Then we write. For five minutes.

Easy-peasy, right?

Let’s get to crackin’.

Today’s Prompt: IMAGINE

AND GO!
Five Minute Friday
***

If you would have asked me two years ago to imagine how today, May 31, 2013 would feel, I probably wouldn’t have even been close.

See, two years ago, my wonderful husband became a drill sergeant at Fort Benning. We heard that it was an extremely difficult assignment, (on step below deployment) but we were up for the task.

Now, two years later… We have come to the end of our time as a drill sergeant family “on the trail.”

And through it all, God sustained us.

My husband worked almost non-stop for 2 years, away from home more than he was here. But God kept us going. Huh. Imagine that.

I cried more tears from frustration that I want to admit, but God made our love grow deeper. Huh. Imagine that.

My Beloved has worked cold, hot, hungry, frustrated, exhausted for hours (ok DAYS) on end. But God gave him a heart of integrity and perseverance. Huh. Imagine that.

We prayed more than we ever have in our entire lives, and God heard our prayers. Huh. Imagine that.

This experience hasn’t been easy, but the my Beloved has trained hundreds of men, turning them from civilians to infantrymen soldiers. Through it all, God has helped our commitment, desire, level of patience and appreciation for each other grow richer than ever. Huh. Imagine that.

Friends, it doesn’t matter what you are going through. Remember when you are weary, worried, or worn, God is there. Stick with Him. Cling to Him. And when it is all said and done, you will see that He never left you, never forsook you.

And with inexplicable joy in your heart, you can say, “Thank you, Lord! Mission Accomplished.”

Huh. Imagine that!

****

Today, we praise the Lord for sustaining us– we are gleefully imagining the next season of our life as an U.S. Army Infantry family. When has the Lord surprised you in your life journey? I would love to hear all about it!

Imagining and Experiencing Victory in Him,
SGK

“God can do anything, you know—far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams!” ~Ephesians 3:20 MSG

We are down to hours of beginning a new, off the trail season of life. Thank you, Jesus for sustaining us!

We are down to hours of beginning a new, off the trail season of life. Thank you, Jesus for sustaining us!

Categories: Five Minute Friday | Tags: , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Huh. Imagine that! (Five Minute Friday)

  1. Thank you for sharing. My husband is in the Army Reserve and after spending ten weeks away from him while he was completing training, my hat is off to you and your family for your sacrfice. In those ten weeks, we learned a lot about each other, and I learned a lot about me… Imagine that… how good God can be to show us we are stronger in Him than we ever thought. Blessings =)

    • Amen, Lauren! My Beloved and I are just now surpassing the point of being in the same zip code more than we have been apart in our 4 yr relationship… It’s wonderful and we rejoice that God has been (and will continue to be) with us on this journey.

  2. Sharita! I had to click when I saw the imagine of embrace the suck because I am an Army officer and more times that I care to count, that has been my mantra! Army Drill Sergeant is indeed a hrd job but also a thankless job! 🙂 Godspeed in your next assignment!

    • Ha ha, I love how other army folks just “get it” when it comes to embracing the suck 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Maria!

  3. Ha! This is awesome. I loved reading about the faithfulness of the Lord throughout your two year stint, but your style is su-weet! Huh, imagine that – I’m sure you are saying to yourself even now. Thank you for sharing these encouraging and fun words.

    • Appreciate that, Debi… My style is… Um, kinda like I talk. (Which sometimes is a goodish-bad thing ha ha!) And yes– we are still saying “Imagine that” as we continue to move forward. Thanks for your encouragement!

  4. I love your post. The structure of it, and how like the psalmist, you point each difficulty back to God’s faithfullness in it. Xx

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

