Lord Have Mercy (Five Minute Friday)

Five Minute Friday
Hey gang. Tis time for Five Minute Friday.

Here’s the skinny: Each Friday, I link up with Lisa-Jo Baker for this super fun quick writing adventure. She gives us a prompt. And we write. For five minutes flat.

Not overthinking or tweaking or editing. We just write.

Let’s get going, shall we?

This weeks prompt: MERCY

ANDDDD GO!

****

The microwave is beeping. The baby is crying. The dog is puking (again– the 5th time today!) on my new beige carpet.

LORD. HAVE. MERCY.

I forget a password to an important online account. I glance at the clock and we are running late– again. The main ingredient I was going to use for supper has apparently passed its prime and smells (and looks) like some freaky refrigerator science experiment.

Lord. Please, please, have mercy. 

Life in this world can be hard. Stressful. Annoying. Exhausting. And on those days especially, I find myself talking to God more so than normal, asking for His supernatural strength, patience and energy.

Oh. And His mercy. Because I can’t handle this on my own. I sin. I fail. I fall short.

No, I know I’m not being martyred for my faith or fighting for my life… But these small challenges in life matter to me. And as we’ve said before– if it matters to us, it matters to God.

So as long as I am on this side of heaven, I will continue to ask for His help, sustainment and yes, His mercy.

And you know what? He always delivers.

STOP!

****

Dear friends, I pray that whatever today brings, you cling to the truth that God loves you, cares for you and will help you through it. May your day be filled with His love and mercy as you walk with Him.

Praising our Merciful God,
SGK

“Praise be to the Lord, for he has heard my cry for mercy.” ~Psalm 28:6

Categories: Five Minute Friday | Tags: , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Lord Have Mercy (Five Minute Friday)

  1. Absolutely!! Those days are sooo… testing!
    We are beyond blessed to be able to lean on the Holy Spirit when our days just plain suck.

  2. Yes! He does deliver in the most timely ways regardless of the circumstances. I’m so glad you pointed out the mercy we need in day-to-day life. Little things matter, too, and they are not always as small as we deem them to be. Taking care of our families is an important task. One we are called to by God. Love this!

  3. So grateful that He does always deliver — whether we need mercy in big or small ways. Praying for life to be a bit calmer for you today.

    • Thanks, Jen. Fortunately that was a day earlier this week (or was it last week?? I have no idea, the days sometimes blur together) but as our ministry picks up steam, I’m relying on God’s grace and mercy to help me find the Holy Balance.

  4. I know there are many times when I discount the “every day trials” because they seem so tiny compared to some of the trials others face. But you are right. If I am caring about something, then God cares about it as well. Nice post!!

  5. You say that you talk to Him more and more – I think you are so right – life is hard. Being a mom is hard – and the more and more we go to Him, the more He becames a part of our every breath – maybe that is the silver lining to the cloud:) Blessings to you, friend, in the hard of the daily!

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

