It’s not my favorite color (Five Minute Friday)

Five Minute Friday

Greetings, all. And happy Friday.

Here at 7 Days Time, Fridays can only mean one thing… It’s time to link up with Lisa-Jo Baker for Five Minute Friday.

It works a lil something like this: Lisa-Jo gives us a prompt. Then we write. For five minutes. No overthinking or strategizing. Just write.

Pretty simple, yes?

Then let’s get this party started.

Today’s prompt: RED

ANNNDD GO!

****

When someone asks my favorite color, it’s never red. My instinctive answer is blue. Followed by purple (Go K-state Wildcats.)

Then as the color list progresses, perhaps green, because folks say it’s “my color” to wear.

But never red.

However, as I look around my house, apparently red is a bigger player than I thought. My living room curtains match our recliner… Both a burgundy-maroonish red.

My kitchen walls? Bright American red.

And if I am feeling fiesty (and baby girl gives me half a moment) my go-to fingernail polish choice… Yep, you guessed it, red.

When I stop to think about “red,” I think about the candle burning on my table. I think about my dad, who we refer to as a “Red-Headed Irishman.”

When I think about the color red, I think of Christ. The blood He shed for us, to give us a hope of eternity in heaven. How He bore our sins as the red rivers of pain and sorrow pooled underneath that cross.

How His red blood washed us white as snow.

Red. It’s not my favorite color. But maybe it should be.

STOP!

****

I always welcome your thoughts, friends. Feel free to comment below… And thanks for stopping by.

Praying you have a stellar weekend as we strive to keep our eyes on the cross moment by moment, day by day.

Blessings,
SGK

“This is God’s Message: ‘If your sins are blood-red, they’ll be snow-white. If they’re red like crimson, they’ll be like wool.'” ~Isaiah 1:19 MSG

Categories: Five Minute Friday | Tags: , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “It’s not my favorite color (Five Minute Friday)

  1. Beautiful post!! I love red and I love Jesus, and am so grateful for His great love for us! 🙂 This is my first FMF! And I am so glad to read all the great posts! So glad to find you–looking forward to reading more of your posts.

  2. I like that your blog was different … rd is not your favorite.. I like it 🙂 you have a cute blog .. thank you for sharing and connecting

  3. Red influences us more than we are aware doesn’t it? Loved your reflection.Stopping by from FMF.

  4. Sharita,
    I would go for blue, first choice, as well – but after reading your entry, I see red in my home, in my wardrobe, on my toes! Now I’m thinking even more about red – the opposites of red – how it’s the color of love and hate. Red is not a color that stands aside; it kind of shouts to be noticed, doesn’t it? I hope you have a wonderful weekend as well; loved your post.
    Janet

  5. Jessica

    Red isn’t my favorite color, but red changed my life because of the color of his blood.

    Stopping by from FMF.

    Have a beautiful weekend!

    Jessica
    http://mybeautifulli.blogspot.com/2013/09/five-minute-friday-red.html

  6. LOL – I love blue – Wildcat Blue (UK) – and I would list red as my last but it’s on my couch – has been on my laundry room walls. Red seems to be a little bit of a sneaky color!

  7. I found your blog via FMF and am looking forward to exploring it more. Enjoyed your thoughts on this prompt, and felt a bit kindred when I saw you’d referenced the same verse that came to mind when I wrote mine. From the sound of what I’ve read here I’m thinking we have a mutual affection for God’s Word. Your Hidden Ah-Ha’s series sounds super exciting. I’ll definitely be returning for that and more. Appreciate the purpose behind your blog….7 days time. Wonderful. Thanks for the call to action.

I'd love to hear from you. Comment here.

Blog at WordPress.com.